We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melleney's Exclusive Guest House

Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
Save
You added Melleney's Exclusive Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 12 Avenue | Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at Melleney's last week and had a pleasant stay. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff member who directed us to our rooms. I was a little disappointed that we never got to meet Melleney and the morning staff still seemed a little quite and subdued rather than warm and friendly, although no major complaints.

The rooms were very neat and clean but the decor really was very outdated. The furnishing is very standard and adequate, a plastic make up mirror in the cupboard and no bar fridge so after I was in my pj's I didn't want to go through to the lounge area to look for bottled water.

I feel it really needs a bit of an update and I felt like I was staying at my grandmother's rather than at an exclusive guest house. The bathroom screamed 80's with it's bright blue bath and gray tiles and there was no added extras like a little vanity kit with cotton wool and earbuds that I expect when staying in a 5 star spot. I did enjoy the underfloor heating and loved the dainty teacups but it just lacks that the little extras that make it exclusive. The gardens are beautiful and breakfast was good, just the filter coffee jar was low on coffee.

With updated decor, bar fridge in the room and some special touches to the decor this place could be really fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jeff in uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our second visit and it wont be our last, this really is a special place 5 star in every aspect.
We stayed here before flying home to the UK after touring SA and we flew home much more relaxed this time.
Give it a try, you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is unquestionably a good place to stay. As others have said, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are wonderful, the lounging areas are nice, and the whole environment is beautiful. The owner's dog is very friendly, too -- especially at breakfast time when there's bacon.

It's not really near anything in terms of walking distance. If you have your own car, or are fine with getting a taxi to/from wherever you want to go, then the location works fine - shopping centers like Nelson Mandela Square are only 10 minutes or so by car, and there's pretty easy freeway access.

All in all a very nice place, I'd absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

this hotel is the best ever! i had the most wonderful time of my life, it is beautiful and quiet and the people there are lovely, the food is delicous, the location is perfect. i have to say this was the best holiday of my life, if you are going to johannesburg you have to go here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

When we got there it was like going to your own house. All of that security and friendliness was brilliant and the food was excellent especially the orange juice. It is situated near the entire write place and is so beautiful inside and out. The staffs are so friendly they become your friends and the rooms are so comfortable I fell asleep as soon as I touched the bed. It was an amazing experience to go there.

  • Liked — The staff and the acomidation.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#51 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melleney's Exclusive Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melleney's Exclusive Guest House

Address: 149 12 Avenue | Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melleney's Exclusive Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melleney's Exclusive Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.