We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melleney's Exclusive Guest House

Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
Save
You added Melleney's Exclusive Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 12 Avenue | Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
jeff in uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our second visit and it wont be our last, this really is a special place 5 star in every aspect.
We stayed here before flying home to the UK after touring SA and we flew home much more relaxed this time.
Give it a try, you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is unquestionably a good place to stay. As others have said, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are wonderful, the lounging areas are nice, and the whole environment is beautiful. The owner's dog is very friendly, too -- especially at breakfast time when there's bacon.

It's not really near anything in terms of walking distance. If you have your own car, or are fine with getting a taxi to/from wherever you want to go, then the location works fine - shopping centers like Nelson Mandela Square are only 10 minutes or so by car, and there's pretty easy freeway access.

All in all a very nice place, I'd absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

this hotel is the best ever! i had the most wonderful time of my life, it is beautiful and quiet and the people there are lovely, the food is delicous, the location is perfect. i have to say this was the best holiday of my life, if you are going to johannesburg you have to go here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

When we got there it was like going to your own house. All of that security and friendliness was brilliant and the food was excellent especially the orange juice. It is situated near the entire write place and is so beautiful inside and out. The staffs are so friendly they become your friends and the rooms are so comfortable I fell asleep as soon as I touched the bed. It was an amazing experience to go there.

  • Liked — The staff and the acomidation.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melleney's Exclusive Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melleney's Exclusive Guest House

Address: 149 12 Avenue | Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melleney's Exclusive Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melleney's Exclusive Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.