We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good people, good service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Good value, good people, good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed with Liz for couple of nights by the recomendation of the B&B I used to stay before. I was surprised that it exceed my expectations: attention to small details, good management and professionalism along with home-like feeling! Strongly recomended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here at Liz at Lancaster. We are really pleased to be recognized as good value for money as we constantly aim to deliver excellent personal service at very reasonable rates. It is good for us tp get the feedback that this is recognized. Thank you. From all the team at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
70
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Liz on Lancaster was a big surprise after 2 weeks of travel and hard driving we found the welcome service and facilities to be of a very high standard. The rooms are spacious well furnished with all the extras and services you expect at a 5 star hotel but for no extra charge.
We had 2 weeks of washing and ironing which was completed in a day for a very small fee.
The breakfast was varied on each of our 4 days it was fresh and good quality food. The owner Liz was always on hand to offer advice on our days plans and was very helpful. We were traveling for 3 months and this was the best B & B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Thank you Lords_10 for taking the time to review Liz at Lancaster and sharing your experiences at the guesthouse. We so enjoyed having you to stay and we loved hearing your stories about the Chiefs/Pirates 'clash' at Soccer City some of which I posted on my blog . (13 Sept) What an experience and we were so pleased that you were able to have some exposure to the kind of atmosphere and vibe of our local soccer matches and to the generosity, humour and humanity of 90% of Saffers. Thank you again and all the best back in Australia.
From Liz and the team at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

For a real genuine super stay no place in Johannesburg can beat this guesthouse. Spacious clean rooms with a big comfortable bed and natural soaps add to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We get many guests from our neighbouring countries in Southern Africa where Tripadvisor does not seem to be extensively used. So it is great to have a review of your experiences here at the Guesthouse. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. From all at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed at Liz At Lancaster for 3 nights with my daughter last week.
Actually Joburg has such bad press that we stay there because we had no choice.
Liz succeeded to make us love Joburg, recommending good restaurants around, advising for visiting museums and places and things to do and even organizing a Soweto tour with a guide.
Zac was an awesome driver, picking and dropping us in Joburg, always with a smile. We always felt very safe and my husband at home was relaxed…
As described in the web site, the room was very cozy, well furnished and comfortable. Everything you can imagine you might need during your stay is in the room. Breakfast was delicious. Best of all, a very a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.
Hope we'll come back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
I am so pleased that your perceptions of Joburg changed after visiting. This has always happened with guests who stay here on their first visit. There are lots of downsides to Joburg - traffic is horrendous, you do have to be aware - more so than in most big cities, the public transport is inadequate and there is no compact urban centre. But it is a city in constant state of change and that makes it an exciting city. There are great restaurants , the shopping is excellent and the climate is often regarded as 'the best in the world'. Plus Jozi-ites are famously friendly and welcoming. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Joburg stay at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse. From all at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have stayed at Liz@Lancaster three times in the past 2 years. Every stay has been perfect. A warm welcome at an efficiently run establishment, comfortable rooms and a generous breakfast. Add to that the good advice Liz is able to give on things to do and see in Johannesburg, Zac's availability for transport, and laundry beautifully done - it is the perfect place to base oneself. Is the best part the warm bathroom floors in the early morning?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
One of the best compliments we can have here at Liz at Lancaster is when 'repeat 'guests arrive and say 'It's like coming home'. We obviously cannot please everybody all the time, but many guests have been coming for years and comment on the personal attention and the friendly welcome from the team here at the guesthouse. We really appreciate your comments and taking the time to write about your experience at Liz at Lancaster. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
From all the team at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We didn't get off to a good start on arriving at Liz at Lancaster. We were allocated a different room to the one we had booked. Zac told us we had more space but as we were staying for 1 night space was not an issue and we would have preferred the 'Coral' room as confirmed.
Unfortunately the pool was unusable due to the number of leaves and Liz explained that the pool maintenance man was due the next morning.
The breakfast was very good and Liz recommended a very good restaurant where we had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Oh dear! The swimming pool is my Achilles' Heel. A huge camphor tree which is very beautiful but overhangs part of the pool, sheds its leaves annually (and copiously) in September/October. And this adds major extra pressure to maintenance during this time of the year. Even though the temperature makes the pool unswimmable until October, this should still not be allowed happen as it does not look good. The aesthetics were not helped by the lawn getting really damaged in our cold winter this year and still battling to come through the black topsoil we layed down in our efforts to encourage its summer growth. I know at the time I offered a bottle of wine or drinks of your choice 'on the house' as apology for the pool, but my huge apologies once again.
Re being accommodated in the two-roomed Yellow Cottage rather than the Coral Studio flatlet, again my apologies. I had guests in the Coral Studio flatlet who had extended a 4 and half week stay by 2 nights and rather than move them for their last 2 nights, I moved you as 'one-nighters' to the Yellow Cottage (at the same rate as the Coral flatlet) .Sadly running an establishment with few rooms, this kind of thing does sometimes happen. I have never before had anybody unhappy about being 'upgraded' so did not think it would be an issue with you. Thank you for the positive feedback about the breakfast and the restaurant recommendation.
I am sorry it was a disappointing stay but I hope Madikwe lived up to expectations and that your experiences in South Africa were positive overall.
Best
Liz Delmont , owner at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My best girlfriend begged me to book with Liz at Lancaster when I told her that my trip to South Africa would include two nights in Johannesburg. I’d planned on staying at a chain hotel, but decided to take her advice and give a B&B a try. It ended making such a difference to my quick trip to Johannesburg. We arrived to a warm greeting by Zac, who took our bags and showed us to the Coral Room. Just as advertized, we had a private entry with our own enclosed and secure outdoor seating area. The room was big and well furnished. The temperature of the room was just perfect, and even though it was winter, I didn’t even need the electric blanket. The bathroom was luxurious and the heated floors felt so nice on my feet. Oh, and the toiletries were lovely – I believe that they use sandalwood scented products. Breakfast was fast and delicious. Pictures of the breakfast room on the website are nice, but it’s so cozy and quaint in person that the photos don’t do the experience justice. We didn’t have much time to explore Johannesburg due to professional commitments. However, we had a few hours to play with on our last day, and Liz gave us great advice on where to go in Soweto. I really could not have asked for a better experience and am grateful to Liz and her staff for making our stay so special and relaxing, and to Shani for insisting that I stay at Liz at Lancaster.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you too to Shani for insisting that you stay ! Your feedback is really valuable .and we are so delighted that your stay was so succesful. Thank you for the positive words. Good too that your visit to Soweto was enjoyable and that you saw the things you wanted to. Hopefully your quick trip whet your appetite for a return trip. All the best and thank you for coming to stay.
From all at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.