We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Peace and Quiet in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing place to have as a home away from home. I have used Liz at Lancaster as my base in Johannesburg over the past 5 years and truly feel very welcome every time I arrive no matter what time of the day or night that has been, it is rather like returning home, with everyone being pleased to see you after a long time away. The rooms are warm, comfortable and superbly appointed with all you may need for self catering and the included breakfast is both attractively presented and delicious. The staff are wonderful, both thoughtful and caring, with nothing being too much trouble. All this set in beautiful gardens full of birdsong complete with a pool and only a short drive away from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We always love seeing you and your Mum when you are here in Joburg. One of the nicest things about our business is having guests come back to stay with us on a regular basis. We all enjoy that ongoing contact and continuity this gives. In your case,apart from catching up with you and your life, it is just so wonderful to see how well your Mum is doing after all her health issues and medical treatment.
The garden is a paradise for the birds at the moment. After our first brief rains of the season early this week (in a very dramatic lashing electric storm), it seems that summer is well and truly here. With the last of the spring flowers and the lush greenness of early summer, it is all looking lovely.
Thank you as always for coming to stay and we look forward to your next visit - hopefully purely leisure with no medical reasons!
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
70
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This if one of the best B&B's/small hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room (Blue Room) was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was very well equipped (for self catering if wanted). Every little detail has been thought of - from torches, LED lights beside the bed and in the bathroom, travel plugs, mosquito repellant (not needed) The staff were friendly and kind and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. Liz herself was welcoming and full of interesting information about Johannesburg. The room guide was a travel brochure in its own right and very helpful. Well worth reading from cover to cover. The Breakfast Room looked out onto the garden which is beautifully maintained and very colourful. Plenty of birds to watch on the bird table. Our breakfast came freshly cooked by Zac and piping hot - a real treat. We couldn't fault the service. When we return to J'burg to visit our daughter we shall certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room (which I understand is the smallest) but it was really great. It is tuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Ann thank you very much for your considered and detailed feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted that you had such a good stay here. We always get a little nervous when guests write that it's one of the best B&Bs they have stayed in, as South Africa has a very high standard of guesthouse accommodation. So there are lots of B&BS and guesthouses out there that have been custom-built and which have way more luxurious finishes than Liz at Lancaster. But all our guests comment on the wonderful staff and how nothing is too much trouble as well as how every small detail has been thought of to make their stay easy, comfortable and really memorable. So we're delighted that you felt this way too.
Our bird table has been the site of much activity with early summer nesting. We are about to look for a barbet nesting box as I heard and then saw a Crested Barbet pecking at a tree trunk - trying to make a hole for its nest (?). Lots more pecking unless we provide a ready-made home!
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next here seeing your daughter.
All the best to you both from all of us at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of my best Guesthouse experiences in Johannesburg ever! Very underrated! Deserves a full 5 stars! From the pick up service to the scrumptious breakfast, all the way to the immaculate gardens - a lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Anthony for your review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. High praise indeed that you have said we provided one of the best guesthouse experiences in Johannesburg deserving a full 5 stars. We try to strike a balance between being homely and welcoming and yet providing professional discreet service with great attention to detail. We really enjoyed meeting you and are only sorry your stay was so short. We hope when you are next back in South Africa you can perhaps stay longer.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac, and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 5 months in Johannebsurg for Business and my accomodation was in Liz at Lancaster. As soon as I arrived I have received a wonderfull and warm welcome by Liz and all of them which got me feeling like at home.
My room was a big, confortable, clean and very well equipped open space, with kitchen space, plasma TV, sofa and a wonderfull private outdoor yard.
Laundry and clean services are accurate and punctual.
All the staff member (Zac, Catherine, Thandie and Rose) assisted me for every needs, including transportation.
The breakfast in the living room is delicious with a view on the swimming pool and during winter time close to a warm fireplace.
All in all, a wonderfull and tender dog (Mali) will be happy to spend time with you in case you are alone, as I was.
Hopefully next year I'll be again in Johanneburg, and I won't have any doubts about where to stay.
Highly reccomended.
Matteo (Italy)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you Matteo for your wonderful feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We really miss you. 5 months is a very long time to be away from home so we're delighted that you felt at home. Marley misses you too! I am pleased too that our location was convenient for your work and that it all worked out so well. We really look forward to seeing you when you are back in South Africa and in the mean time look after yourself.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Liz's place is wonderful. It is more than a guest house... with beautiful rooms and stunninig gardens. Zac, Catherine and Thandi are so kind and friendly - and it's always nice to have a little chat with Liz in the mornings. The breakfast is truly yummy. Nothing is too much trouble for Liz & co. If you decide to stay here, you are in for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Mandy for taking the time to write about your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. As always it was so good to see you. We are delighted that you enjoy staying here. and already miss your cheerful voice at breakfast and all the interesting conversations. We look forward to your next visit although know that you are looking forward to a welcome break from work and travel. Enjoy your well-earned rest !
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherin and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the first friendly welcome, to the final goodbye 12 days later, I could find absolutely no fault. The staff are friendly and helpful, there when you need them, but not in your face. The room is warm and comfy and well equipped, the breakfast is superb. It is very useful to have the services of Zac to ferry one around at an extremely reasonable cost. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank KualaLumpurDana for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that all went smoothly and that your stay here was so comfortable. We are very very lucky with the team that we have here - they certainly do go the extra mile and with such genuine concern, warmth and caring. And yes, Zac's driving services are a wonderful value-added for guests who don't have their own transport. You were lucky to have warmish weather when you were here. The temperature today is expected to reach a max of 17 whereas last week we had temps daily of between 22 and 24. Guests loved the log fire at breakfast this morning. But this is hopefully our last cold winter snap before spring and summer weather!
We hope that if and when you are back in South Africa and Joburg again, you will come and stay.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie and Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here on the tail end of our trip to South Africa. It was a very welcoming haven in a city which we were at first, a little apprehensive of. Although we had a lot of requests of him, Zac was very willing to help us (driving to and fro) which we were very appreciative of. The breakfasts were very good and served in front of a warm fire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Hamish for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We're delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet in this busy city. You are one of many guests who has commented on how secluded and quiet it is here, despite the fact that it is so close to major business and leisure hubs and to main arterial roadways such as Jan Smuts. We're pleased that Zac's driving was such a help during your stay. If ever you are here this way again (which is a big ask given that Singapore is so far away) we hope to welcome you back.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.