We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 233 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great service, staff that goes out of their way for you even on their off days, what more could one ask for?

Catherine remembered that my partner didn't eat pineapple and made her a special fruit salad without them. She also made sure that i had hp sauce on the breakfast table. sometimes it is the small little things that make the big difference.

This is now my 1st choice for accommodation when in Johannesburg again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you Athi for writing about your experiences here at Liz at Lancaster. Guests often comment during their stay on how wonderful the staff are and how nothing is too much trouble. Catherine was very pleased when I passed on your comments about her caring and attentive service. It really means a lot to get this kind of positive feedback as it really affirms that her efforts are appreciated. We enjoyed seeing Marion again and meeting you. Thanks again for coming to stay and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Johannesburg.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster, and particularly from Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
58
21
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I were planning a trip to Johannesburg for a friends wedding this past January and we were given the link to liz at lancaster and after a few minutes, we knew we had to stay here. When we arrived at the B&B, we were greeted by Catherine, who showed us our room, the Earth Room, and even explained how to work everything in the room. The bed and pillows in the room were so fluffy and comfortable that it was the best bed I have ever slept in.

Every morning we were served with the most wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, 3 different types of granola, juice, coffee, eggs, sausage, and bacon. Breakfast was served on the patio with the doors opened to the back yard and we got to see the beautiful flowers and birds. Liz greeted us every morning and would ask how everything was going. Even Marley, the sweet labrador, would greet us every morning and would stay by our sides until we were done eating.

The B&B is located in a beautiful neighborhood with lots of trees lining the streets and is nice area for morning and afternoon walks. There is also a grocery store down the street, just walking distance, in case we need to pick anything.

Liz, Zack, Catherine and everyone else who works at Liz at Lancaster are one of the nicest people we have ever met. The B&B really took care of us and it did feel like home. Even though my home is in the United States, but during that time period we were there I felt really comfortable and relax. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Johannesburg to stay at Liz at Lancaster and if my husband and I ever get a chance to visit Johannesburg again, we will for sure stay here again. Thank you, Liz at Lancaster, for the everything you have done for us :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you ValleyGirl83 for your extensive feedback and such positive words about your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, felt so at home and that your time in Johannesburg was such a success. it was so great that you made the most of the walking the neighbourhood. Because we have had late afternoon thunder storms recently, the mornings are crisp and clear, so particularly beautiful for walking. A guest came back from a walk this morning and was amazed that he had passed horses being taken from their stables to their day paddocks in Delta Park a mere 5 blocks from Liz at Lancaster in the heart of a suburban neighbourhood - and 10 minutes from Sandton CBD!! . Marley of course enjoys her walks around the block after trying to persuade guests with big doleful eyes that she is never loved or fed! It would be wonderful if you returned to South Africa and if you do, we'd love to welcome you back again. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay here at the guesthouse.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After a two year gap we stayed here for 10 days and found that standards had been maitained at the highest levels with all staff as attentive and conscientious as before . Indeed they were the same team which shows how committed they are to ensuring that the highest standards of service. guidance and advice are available to all who stay. The rooms are large and spacious which add to the comfort and little touches like putting on bedroom lights at night in welcome just go that extra mile. And the breakfasts... they are just superb; served at your own table in a delightful dining room overlooking the spacious and open garden. Without doubt we will stay on our next visit and we would certainly recommend Liz at Lancs to any individual or family visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Achnacille,
Thank you for coming to stay again and for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor about your stay. We all so enjoyed seeing you again and getting the daily news about the new addition to the family! We are indeed lucky here at Liz at Lancaster to have so many guests who keep returning to Jo'burg and to stay with us, whether on business, to escape the northern winters or to see family as in your case. It really does enrich our lives to have these ongoing connections. And we're delighted that you found our service levels have continued to be of a high standard and that you enjoyed staying here. We certainly loved your being back again! From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It isn't hard to understand why this is one of the most frequented B&B's in Johannesburg. It is truly a home with all manner of decorative and functional enhancements, rendering it very comfortable and pleasant for both short and longer-term stays. The staff are attentive and courteous and Liz the owner personally overseas the efficient and welcoming establishment in the Northern Johannesburg suburb of Craighall Park. Close to the shops, restaurants and malls it is equivocally my preferred accommodation when in town.

Room Tip: Each room is different and has a themed name. It is best to find out beforehand to find the most sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks Praguestevo for your feedback on Liz at Lancaster. It has been wonderful having you to stay over the last 8/9 (?) years on your annual visits to South Africa. Thank you for your loyal support and repeat business. We are so fortunate to have guests like you who keep returning and so become part of Liz at Lancaster's extended circle. You have certainly seen the guesthouse grow and expand over the years and we're delighted that you feel we have kept the ethos of providing a comfortable environment with attentive personal service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to South Africa.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A delightful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and private with small kitchen's if you want to do the self-catering thing. The area was also safe enough to go for an early morning jog and because it's fairly central you'll find a selection of shops and restaurants closeby. Liz really does pay attention to every detail, certainly a place to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you CockyKK for taking the trouble to share your feedback of your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We're so pleased that you enjoyed being able to jog in the area. Liz's New Year's resolution was to start walking the 'burbs ... and has been quite good so far. The weather has been just sublime so it has been no hardship to set off and walk the neighbourhood streets and through the nearby park on week-ends. We so look forward to having you come back to stay. Thanks once again for your feedback.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at Liz's Guesthouse during the 2010 World Cup and could not have been happier with the experience. Liz, Zack and her whole team stopped at nothing to make our stay enjoyable. From the hospitality at the guesthouse itself to ensuring we were taken care of to get around town, it was top class the whole way. I'm glad to see so many other glowing reviews of this little oasis. You can believe them - it is "amazing", and "absolutely fabulous" etc. My best to Liz and her team. Especially Zack (who is easily one of the top ten kindest and coolest people in South Africa).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you Errol for taking the time to review your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience. Thank you too for the tweet about your stay. Feedback from people who travel extensively and stay in guesthouses around the world is always really valuable as they have a real benchmark against which to assess their accommodation and travel experience. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and Zac gave his big wide smile when I gave him your feedback. thank you again. All the best to you and the family.
Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent 3 nights In July 2012 at Liz's Guesthouse. It was perfect. From the time we were met at the airport by Zack until our departure it was all top class. The attention given to us by Liz and her team made for a pleasant stay.

We stayed in the Coral studio flat. It was private, in a nice garden setting. The flat was very comfortable, cosy and clean. It had everything. The heating under the floor was appreciated as well as very good internet access. All facilities were modern, were easy to use and worked well. Hot water was not a problem. Liz had added a number of personal touches eg good coffee with plunger, homemade soaps, biscuits, magazines, etc which gave a nice feel.

We were impressed with the information folder Liz supplied and the way Liz explained the flat’s features, local restaurants, shopping and things to do. The information was very useful during our stay. We used it a lot.

Breakfasts were more than ample with a good selection to suit all tastes. A crackling fire and conversations with Liz and other guests created a nice atmosphere.

The Guesthouse is in a very nice and quiet area. We walked to a number of restaurants and shops which were within easy walking distances. For our longer trips to markets and malls Zack drove us. Zack provided an efficient and friendly service.

Liz checked with us each day what our plans were and gave us good suggestions. We had booked a bicycle tour of Soweto but it was snowing. We didn't think we would see snow in Johannesburg. Although it stopped snowing it was still too cold for cycling. At short notice Liz arranged a Soweto tour by car for us. The tour was well worth it.

Liz at Lancaster, a great place to stay while in Johannesburg. Thanks Liz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much Greg for taking the time to write about your stay here at Liz at Lancaster and particularly for such extensive and detailed feedback. We so enjoyed meeting you and having you and your family to stay and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in Joburg and at Liz at Lancaster in particular. I gave Zac your feedback and he was delighted and sent his best to you. I am only sorry that you had such cold weather - snow was certainly not the norm! You definitely needed the underfloor heating, the wood burner in the sitting room and the log fire in the breakfast patio, and a driving tour rather than a cycling tour of Soweto was essential ! Since you were here we have had a couple damaging hailstorms which have shredded the garden but the plants are recovering and generally we have had a wonderful summer. Although we have had lots of rain, it never lasts long and there is never a day when we don't have extended sunny skies. Thank you once again Greg and all the best to you and the family from us all at Liz at Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.