We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Waitati, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We arrived at liz's after being in transit for 48hours from New Zealand and we all thought we had died and gone to heaven, amazing service and even more amazing staff, thanks for a wonderful time and thanks zac for your expertise in driving us everywhere

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness centre, all rooms were quiet and peaceful, there were 7 in our party
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much Bronwyn for your review of your stay at Liz at Lancaster. I was sorry to have missed you (as you were here when I was away for a wedding in the Cape) but am delighted that all went so well and so smoothly. Elaine, Zac, Thandie and Catherine so enjoyed meeting you all. Am really pleased that all the driving worked out with Zac and that you had a good time seeing Joburg and all it has to offer. I hope your family wedding was wonderful. Thanks again for coming to stay.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster Liz, Elaine, Zac, Catherine and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
58
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There aren't enough superlatives to describe how LIz and her team made our stay in Johannesburg so perfect. You CAN believe everything that all the other reviews say! It was great to be in such a quiet, peaceful and private location yet with many great restaurants and shops so close. If we ever had a query about what to do, where to find something, there was always someone to answer, even quite late into the evening. This really was service par excellence and a home from home. I can't understand why anyone would choose to stay in a hotel, when you can have Liz at Lancaster. Thanks a million to Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandi, Elaine and Rosie. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much Lindsay for your positive feedback and glowing review. We're delighted that you found Liz at Lancaster so convenient and that service levels were up to scratch. It is really helpful to myself as owner/manager and to the staff, to know that our being on call makes such a positive difference for guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope it won't be too long before you are back. By the way you were our 100th reviewer. So thank you for helping us reach that milestone. :)
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Having had connections with Johannesburg all my life, most notably in the Parkhurst/Craighall Park area, I was delighted to have chosen Liz at Lancaster's for a recent stay of two wonderful weeks with my sister who I had not seen for a year. All the staff at the guest house are warm and welcoming, yet unobtrousive, the garden and pool relaxing, the rooms (Ochre room) tastefully decorated with private courtyard, and well equipped, and the early morning birdsong so peaceful, that this was a perfect choice from which to explore old stamping grounds. A home away from home.
The "book" on what to do, where to eat, shop, which museums to visit, and how to get places, was very useful and written in such a personal way that we found all the information we needed.
Self catering facilities were good for preparing light meals (not that we had much time for much of that) and generously stocked with the basics of oil, vinegar, salt, pepper etc making it easier to contemplate self catering. We were even admonished by Catherine for having washed our own plates on the first day - complete and friendly service at all levels!
We were even given "braai" (barbecue) facilities in our courtyard so that we could prepare "boerewors" for old time's sake.
Laundry facilities are quick and reasonably priced. Solar heating, garbage recycling, salt treated pool, natural ventilation in the rooms and many indigenous plants in the garden, all help reduce the carbon footprint of a typical tourist stay.
Now I just have to plan the next trip as early as possible to make sure that there will be space for me at the inn next time around! Liz, Zac, Thandi, Catherine, Rosie and Elaine - Thank you!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Carey thank you so much for your extensive feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. You have written such extensive comments which pick up on so much of what we try and do to ensure we live up to our slogan of being 'quiet, convenient, and connected'. And hopefully we could add 'consistent and comfortable' to that as well ! Like many guests you comment on the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - they are always delighted to get this positive feedback about their service levels. As far as eco-friendliness goes, we try to be as green as possible with a continual eye to reducing our carbon footprint. We also use energy -saving light-bulbs throughout, water-saving shower nozzles, natural fibres for all linen and fabrics, as much as possible use bio-degradable cleaning products, make our own compost , use renewable energy in our winter log fires, etc.
We so enjoyed having you both to stay and are delighted that you had such a happy time here reconnecting with your sister, with your old friends and with your old stamping ground ! We look forward to seeing you when you return for another visit. We will ensure that we have room at the inn for you ! All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster and thanks for coming to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent five days here in November and were more than impressed. We had read the rave reviews and were expecting something special. Well we got it. From the very well equipped room, with loads of advice on visitor attractions, restaurants etc, to the hearty breakfasts and friendly staff, it was a great visit. We used Zac the "chaffeur" to get us to and from meetings in Sandton City and saved oursleves the aggravation of peak hour traffic. Will highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Gramench,
Thank you so much for your review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We are always worried when potential guests say 'We've read your excellent reviews' as it puts such pressure to live up to expectations. So we are delighted that you weren't disappointed. We try to make sure that we provide good value and comfortable accommodation at competitive rates with all the extra conveniences that make a stay easy and hassle free. Of course one of these conveniences is having Zac as an on-site driver. So we're pleased that this added value to your trip. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you back to stay with your family. Thanks once again from all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and now Elaine who has joined the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a woman who has thought of everything down to the last detail and it really makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms were immaculate and the price is very reasonable. Liz has even made a lovely book explaining different things to do in JHB, which was perfect for people like us who haven't a clue. We chose Liz purely by coincidence as it was close to Sandton City but we were not disappointed at all. The breakfast is delicious and they serve REAL coffee :-)
I can highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for coming to stay and for writing of your experience here at Liz at Lancaster. Also delighted that you found us conveniently located for Sandton City. Craighall Park is such a central suburb in Joburg that it is only 10 minutes from the 2 main business and leisure hubs of both Sandton and Rosebank. I'm also pleased that you found our information booklet so useful. There is so much to see and do in Joburg that it really does help if you have an insider's view of what to do and see in terms of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc as well as practical info to orientate you to a new city. Having lived in Joburg all my life and being involved in researching aspects of Joburg's heritage, I love 'spreading the word' about what Jozi has to offer. And as for REAL coffee at breakfast - good ground coffee is one of life's essential luxuries ! And we stock all the room kitchenettes with it as well. So thanks again for your feedback. All the best from the team at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Elaine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As highly spontaneous trip planners we were fortunate to get in on a last minute cancellation into this wonderful and conveniently located GH. Every imaginable need is considered in the tastefully decorated and well equipped unit, from map books, written directions to the airport, recommendations for where to get a hair cut and the well stocked kitchen and bar.... the list goes on endlessly...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experiences here at Liz at Lancaster. We were delighted that we had 'room at the inn' with a last minute cancellation. We really enjoyed meeting you and hearing about your work in Karthoum. The hospitality industry has many wonderful advantages but meeting so many interesting people from all over the world is one that we particularly value. Good that you found all the 'concierge' information we provide so useful. Thanks for coming to stay and we hope that if ever you are down in this part of the world again, you'll come back and stay at Liz at Lancaster. All the best from the Liz at Lancaster team - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hard to find somewhere providing 2 single beds & Earth Room was perfect, as was our stay there for 2 nights at beginning of 5 weeks stint through Africa. Couldn't fault Liz and staff - breakfast was great. Zac & Abey were both great in driving us to where we wanted to go. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Anne,
Thanks so much for coming to stay and thank you for taking the time on your return to Australia to write about your stay at Liz at Lancaster. Although it was only a short stay before you started on the rest of your travel adventures, we're pleased that it all worked out well. And very glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. We are in the process of adding variations to the menu, although most guests still seem to prefer either the fresh fruit in season with our special home-made muesli or go for a traditional full cooked breakfast .. or both!!
All the best from Liz and all the team at Liz at Lancaster - Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.