We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bougain Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bougain Villa
Save
You added La Bougain Villa to your Saves list
6 Smits Road | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 270 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
durban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stay at La Bougain Villa every time I visit Johannesburg... usually twice a year... and can thoroughly recommend it. Beautiful setting, centrally located, secure parking and friendly, helpful, welcoming staff and hosts... excellent value for money! A most private and peaceful haven.... just completed my 4th visit and i am already looking forward to the next!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We love South African B&Bs in general - La Bougain Villa ranks with the top - lovely vintage home, beautiful grounds, gracious and beyond helpful hostess ... and host :-) Thanks Fay and Chris for our most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon - kitchentte area not been cleaned of crumbs, microwave dirty and sheets on bed not changed (hair on pillowcase, sheets dirty) - moved out without moving in - not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at La Bougain Villa for 4 wonderful comfortable nights and were delighted with the warm hospitality of Fay and Chris. It was our (some of our party's ) first visit to Joburg and the very spacious accommodation of their beautiful manor was lovely. They were so helpful in giving us directions, answering questions, looking things up for us, lending us a map booklet, offering their help - Fay even drove down to where we called from when we first arrived in the city, to make it easy for us to just follow her home. We had daily room service, we had the most delicious breakfasts with so much variety of fruit, often served outside in the sunshine on their lovely patio, we had internet connection and we enjoyed quiet comfortable restful sleeps. The little fruit plate provided in our rooms was fresh and delicious, and I especially appreciated that. It was a joy to meet Georgina from the kitchen with her lovely smile. Fay and Chris both were so warm and personable and their kindness to us, their guests was wonderful. Our memories of our stay in their home are outstanding.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is very spacious and the bed is king-size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our five days in this beautiful B&B cannot be over rated. There are only 5-stars available and our lovely hostess deserves them all. The quiet home, beautiful grounds and comfortable rooms, with outstanding breakfasts. Even have robes for guests in the room as would any 5-star facility. Faye was most helpful and gave us the best places for dinner. While you are there, check out Joseph, a delightful gentleman who handles the grounds, out luggage and even gave out rental car a quick little bath. This is life a home away from home and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Fay was our' hostess with the mostess'--Arriving to lovely gardens, a pool and a beautiful porch/patio, where we had delicious breakfasts each morning, it only got better on the inside with lovely accommodations for our party of 5, in 3 beautifully different rooms. The location is very private, quiet and relaxing, and we wanted for nothing! Fay was most helpful, offering dining suggestions, directions, and anything else we might need. It was a wonderful visit there and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was my first visit to Johannesburg, upon my first contact with Fay the owner - she was extremely helpful, informative and very warm. Provided me with lots of information prior arriving. I decided to go ahead and book, from the moment of my arrival, I felt right at home.
La Bougain is will landscaped, very very clean and will maintained. Fay was welcoming,and just as warm in person.
I booked self catering, the living room was bright, fresh, clean. Bedroom lots of space, sheets soft and bed was comfortable. Bathroom clean and bright.
Lots of room to park my hired car. Security entrance - felt very safe and rested.
Close to both Sandton and Joburg.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#95 of 270 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
#10 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bougain Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bougain Villa

Address: 6 Smits Road | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bougain Villa is an elegant home offering friendly hospitality in gracious surroundings in the heart of Johannesburg's northern suburbs. Within easy reach of business and shopping centres of Hyde Park, Rosebank and Sandton. Each suite, stylishly appointed with meticulous attention to detail, includes a bedroom and private lounge; two have their own entrances and one suite has a kitchenette for the self-caterer. DSTV, MNet, wi-fi, internet connection and fax facilities. Tennis court, swimming pool and laundry. Secure parking. All credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing