We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travellers who want to avoid the rat-race of Sandton, consider this 4-5 starred guest house with all mod-cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kuilen Country House

Save Saved
You added De Kuilen Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Kuilen Country House
26 Glenluce Drive, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Upgrade to Luxury
Ranked #16 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business travellers who want to avoid the rat-race of Sandton, consider this 4-5 starred guest house with all mod-cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This place is an enigma, situated safely (in a secure estate) hidden away from the hustle and bustle from Joburg, yet only 10-15 mins to Sandton in peak traffic, why isn't it packed ?.This provides business travellers like me the opportunity to retreat from the commotion of Sandton to retreat in the tranquil surrounds of its four acre gardens and have sumptious breakfasts in one of the most unique breakfast rooms I have ever seen with antique doors recycled from an 100yr old Church.The fireplace itself is an antique but blasts out heat in the wintery Joburg winters that makes you want to sit and have breakfast all day....which the owner will let you do. The couple that run this will give even the best racontuer a run for his money. So if you are prepared to think out of the box give this place and try and I think you will add me to your facebook account as a friend.May 2011 Dr N Patel

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We, at De Kuilen Country House are most grateful for this kind review. We are particularly appreciative of it being from one half of a couple who have stayed with us frequently, over several years, recently for business trips and ialso for family leisure occasions, when our focus on French country cuisine and traditional local specialities, with a modern interpretation, have been much appreciated. We are also grateful for all our frequent guests, who, over the years have helped us to know that what is required to make a business trip into a pleasant and supportive occasion is an orientation to the needs of the visitor. It is our pleasure to be service orientated when it is so well received!
Anne-Marie & Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

De Kuilen Country House is a perfect retreat from the jostle of Johannesburg. Being set among beautifully kept gardens tranquillity descends upon you the second you arrive. There are many comfortable areas for you to sit back and relax from the sheltered veranda in the courtyard, the front terrace and the drawing room. The décor and finishing’s throughout the house including the rooms are wonderful, a great deal of care has been taken for each room to have its own unique touches and the house to retain the character of Cape Dutch manor.

Both of the hosts, Anne-Marie and Charles, are a wealth of knowledge from gardening, wine, history and much more. They have a vast book collection to match which covered every topic I could have wished for. I just wish I was a faster reader!

For those who love their food and wine this will definitely not disappoint, Anne-Marie along with the chefs are extremely good cooks and the meals are somehow always the perfect choice of dish and size.

Overall, the ambiance created by the wonderfully completed rooms, the welcoming staff and the hosts make you feel free to roam and very much part of this grand and welcoming home. I would love to be able to come here on a frequent basis and highly recommend it to anyone who plans to visit Johannesburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
We, at De Kuilen, deeply appreciate the thought that has gone into this review. We enjoyed your stay very much and look forward to your return. It is always a great compliment to all of us when we receive such a positive review from one of our guests and it encourages us to continue to improve our offering to our guests at every opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This was our second stay at De Kuilen and we want to go back. It's like we need regular doses of the excellent hospitality, peaceful and tranquil surroundings, delicious meals and feel-at-home comfort. Not to mention that it's great value for money. The location is easily accessible, so you won't be driving around in circles. The rooms are so comfortable with clean and fresh linen; the kitchen is well equipped and the hospitality tray of cookies are mouth watering; the bathrooms are very neat and have most of all you need, including quality toiletries (shampoos, soaps).
Just get there, kick off your shoes, soak in the tub with a glass of bubbly and allow yourself to recuperate in a homely environment.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
We, at De Kuilen, were so pleased to read your positive feedback about your stays at our beautiful De Kuilen. We thank you for the way you have shared your views on our hospitality - in so thorough a manner. It must make a great difference to prospective travellers to hear about Guesthouses in Johannesburg with a caring attitude to guests that permeates all aspects of their stay. We thank you for taking the time to reflect this so well. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards from Anne-Marie, Charles, Viv, Rosalie, Florence, Fanie and of course Henry, and Bella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This has truly been my favourite place to stay at in Jhb. Amazing environment - real old world charm. Fantastic breakfast and the hosts organised an exquisite lunch in the garden. I left here feeling truly refreshed and looked after. I would recommend it both for business executives who want a place of serenity after a busy day and for couples just needing a place to breathe. Exceeded all my expectations. What a find!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
We thank you for your discerning review - It is a pleasure to earn such praise from a most appreciated client!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

The De Kuilen is a real find! It is conveniently situated not far from Sandton City and within easy reach of all the places you would want or need to visit in Johannesburg. However, it has so much more to offer than most of the normal accommodation options. The De Kuilen is a real country style hotel set in the midst of beautiful gardens.

The service is excellent and the owners, Anne-Marie and Charles Molteno, go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

A major highlight of our stay was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts and the superb gourmet cooking.

We recommend this hotel unreservedly for business, pleasure, or both at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Kuilen Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kuilen Country House

Address: 26 Glenluce Drive, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your De Kuilen Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kuilen Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.