We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate to your Saves list
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We only spent one night at the Houghton Estate. It was to be our last night in South Africa so much time was spent packing and preparing for our long trip home. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time sitting by the lovely pool area. We had two rooms, both spacious, immaculate, and with all the necessities. The staff were all gracious. We forgot to ask in advance for a later check out, as our transportation back to the airport wasn't going to arrive until 14:45. They were very accommodating, and let us stay in our rooms until 1PM (check out is at 10AM).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete and send your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
We were delighted that you chose our hotel for you and your family's last night's stay here in South Africa, and indeed that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We do strive at all times to ensure the utmost comfort of our guests, and were delighted to hear that our staff and services met and exceeded your expectations.

It would be a delight and a privilege to host you and your family during your next trip to sunny South Africa.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
8
20
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early December, arriving mid-morning on Sunday - shown to my room immediately and offered complimentary guava juice. All the staff were delightful. Hotel was full but somehow it never felt crowded or busy. Breakfast outside overlooking the gardens was a great start to the day - lots of cooked options and sumptuous continental spread (champagne available). Wifi reception good on the verandah, which was a lovely place to relax with a beer and catch up on email etc. Checked out late on Wednesday evening, incurring a ZAR500 late checkout fee - which was reasonable given I had the room til 6pm. The hotel is a few blocks from Nelson Mandela's house in the lovely Houghton suburb, very green. Hotel arranged for airport pick up and drop off in Mercedes, reasonable at around ZAR400 taking 30 minutes. Very happy with the entire experience (colleagues stayed at Sunny Side, nearby, and were very disappointed, with one moving to 10 2nd Avenue after a couple of nights!)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 on the ground floor with a garden fountain at the front and doors out the back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your very kind and positive comments after your stay here in December.

We do strive to always delight our guests, and it is indeed a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed all the wonderful services and amenities of our lovely hotel here in Houghton.

I will pass on your comments to our staff, and this will certainly motivate them to continue to strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel was a joy! Wonderful staff, enjoyable surroundings, relaxing atmosphere, great food. The garden is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious, bright, and luxurious. Room service was particularly good, with the full dinner menu available! The pool is small but relaxing. I would highly recommend the 10 2nd Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us, and that our "Gracious Living in Luxury" has met and exceeded your expectations.

We all here at 10 2nd Avenue would be delighted to host you in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malelane, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here recently and was thrilled with the experience. I travel to Johannesburg often for business and have stayed at so many places where I paid a lot, but was never happy. 10 2nd Avenue is everything I ever wanted in a hotel! The staff are wonderful and nothing is too muh trouble. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. At last I found comfortable pillows which I battle with at most hotels. The garden is so lovely and the birdlife incredible. I slept well at night, as it is so peaceful, cannot find that anywhere else in Johannesburg. It is close to the airport and Houghton is a lovely suburb. It is truly a Hidden gem and at a reasonable price too!! Dinner was so romantic outside amongst the beautiful rose garden. The food was outstanding, the wine list excellent. Room service was great too. Having DSTV in your room which enables you to change to so many chanels makes such a difference. The wireless signal needs to be stronger though so please sort this out. Well done and I will always stay there when in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are a must, or the ones overlooking the next door property's garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your detailed and extremely positive comments with regard to your stay at our beautiful hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and this will certainly motivate the entire team to strive even more to ensure that each and every one of our valued guests are served and hosted to our five star standards.

We look forward very much indeed to welcome you back to our haven of luxury in Houghton Estate, during your next trip to Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at 10 2nd Avenue earlier this month as I was keen to use this hotel for our clients travelling through Johannesburg to Botswana on safari. I have tried so many Johannesburg hotels within easy reach of the airport and most are disappointing (within the an affordable overnight price bracket).
I was very happy with this hotel. I stayed in an executive room which was spacious, had a superb view of the manicured gardens and the attention to detail was much appreciated: the gowns, the slippers, thew DSTV, the fruit bowl, the well stocked tea and coffee station. The furnishings are of a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside was that the hot water was only warm (both in the evening and in the morning) and this was brought to the attention of the management.
The service was good from reception staff to waiters. inner was also very good and well presented - though the wine list is a little thin and the prices do not reflect the quality of the wines. Breakfast was excellent (though there was no sign of the advertised "champagne breakfast").
The transfer service back to the airport was good (25 minutes on a weekday morning at 08.30).
Overall, the location an comfort are great - and Rosebank is a few minutes away by taxi so close to shopping an restaurants/cinemas etc.

Room Tip: Room upstairs for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
My team and I are most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you chose our hotel to bring your valued clients, and in particular the amenities and services which we provide to ensure our guests utmost comfort. We do always strive to ensure our guests experience is one of “Gracious Living” and that they have a most memorable experience.

With regards to the “Champagne Breakfast” this is served every morning. We have noted your observation and will ensure that this is indeed offered and served to our guestss, by the waitron staff.

I do hope to welcome you and your guests back again very soon to spend more time with us.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Tucked away in leafy and sleepy Houghton is this hidden gem. Quiet location, lovely, large well-furnished rooms. Wonderful, kind, helpful and always cheerful staff. Although a regular worldwide traveller I cannot think of another hotel where I received such good service. Perhaps this is because it is a small team who work extremely well together.

I was on business in Johannesburg for a month and this proved to be an ideal place to stay. staff helped with printing, broadband access was good although not excellent. Also of note was its quiet location which allowed ample time for work and reflection without any intrusion from traffic of either the vehicular or human variety. Ideal for work.

The menu could be varied a bit more. Car hire should be considered for getting about independently.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are conveniently located for dining areas and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete your review of our beautiful hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am particularly delighted that you enjoyed the services of our superb and attentive staff, and that they were able to assist you and provide you with the services you required during your stay. I will certainly pass on your much appreciated comments to them.

I have noted your comments with regard to the variety on the menu, and will certainly work on this with our Head Chef, in order to provide freshness, quality as well as variety in our daily menus.

I look forward to welcoming you back to 10 2nd Avenue in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

l spent three nights in this stunning boutique hotel, in the heart of Houghton Estate. My choice of this boutique hotel as a getaway was certainly the right one. The staff all round are friendly, attentive and most welcoming. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, with the most wonderful amenities provided to make your stay even more special. lt was these special touches that made me feel truly at home. The wonderful garden setting certainly added to my experience of total relaxation. Dining at the hotel was an experience of true five star standards with a small but tasty menu being provided. l will return as soon as l have the opportunity to travel to Johannesburg again. Thank you to all who made this a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our valued guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and that we are your destination of choice on your next visit to Johannesburg. We do take care to make our guests feel at home at all times, by providing excellent service, comfort and gracious style in all areas of our hotel.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 14 Luxury Rooms, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include our "Champagne" Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambiance of the wine cellar or indulging in a pre-dinner drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE’s renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.