We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet and Safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate to your Saves list
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet and Safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Knowing Johannesburg very well I am very picky with hotels and B&Bs in this city - Houghton Estate certainly is a top pick. It is extremely well located, be it relative to the airport, to Sandton or Joburg CBD - within a quiet residential area, just minutes away from a prime golf course (Houghton Golf Club). Last time we visited was in early May 2013. The only issue we had were constructions on the neighboring plot to the East. Check if this is still going on - if it does, make sure you book a room that goes to the other side. These rooms are much nicer anyway, as they overlook the garden (instead of the parking lot or the rooms in front). Otherwise it is a great place, staff is friendly and they do serve great food and wines.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, overlooking the garden, have a nicer view and are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all advise related to the services and products of our Hotel.
We noted your comment regarding the building site next to our property. We do everything possible to work with the construction management to reduce the noise levels. Currently a 3 meter wall is being erected to minimise the disturbance. We were assured that by end of June 2012 the major work schedule will be completed, eliminating noise level to acceptable levels.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
25
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This small hotel is located in the Houghton Estate area of Johannesburg, close to the golf course and nestled in amongst the wide tree lined avenues and mansions of the rich and famous. Set in its own, beautifully maintained grounds it is an oasis where the sound of the fountains mingles with birdsong in the trees. The rooms are large, well appointed and feel spacious. Little touches such as fresh shortbread to go with your tea/coffee make a difference.

The public areas are an absolute joy, from the sofa's on the veranda to the three different dining areas (in the more formal dining room, on the veranda or poolside on the patio). Indoor, there are more sofa's for lounging on at the end of the day.

The staff are attentive and the restaurant is popular with people who lunch. The breakfast buffet is extensive and varied, with many types of bread, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese, meats and hot dishes. Take your time and enjoy.

The hotel arranged our airport transfers, which worked perfectly, and a taxi to/from a local restaurant. For the airport transfers the hotel provided the drivers name, telephone number and a description so that we could be sure we had the right one. It is about 30 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Checked in ro 8. Ordered a great snack and tea. Waiters always friendly and greeting me by name.
Outstanding breakfast, especially the scrambled eggs and salmon. Your car is always complimentary washed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had the most amazing dinner with a party of 10pax. This is an old estate with a marvelous garden. They served us dinner on the terrasse.
The service is excellent and the food was delicious.
A great place for a business event.
I did not stay there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights and the place is wonderful. Large clean rooms, great food and caring staff . What more could you want? Aldo there js a mall close by for any shopping needs and plenty of eating/drinking venues. I travel regularly to Johannesburg and will definitely stsy here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

2 couples stayed here (2 rooms) on 2 different occasions a week apart recently. We had to overnight in Joburg while we were between safaris. This place is just unbelievable. Beautiful, relaxing, and fabulous food. When we checked out after the first stay, they told us to not worry about paying for the rooms until after our 2nd stay. They were happy to store our extra luggage for the week we were on safari. They even did our laundry at no extra cost! Grant and Peter are extremely gracious hosts. In fact, the entire staff were very helpful and friendly. And, did I mention that the food is fabulous? The chef shared several recipes with us (his leek and potato soup is the best any of us had ever had). So, do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I really enjoy my stays at 10 2nd. Generally high service levels, friendly staff and a convenient location for central Johannesburg make it a relaxing part of my Joburg business trips. The rooms are large and comfortable. I particularly enjoy the smaller size of the hotel, which gives it a more personal feel.
The food deserves special mention - it is exceptional. Just a pity the menu isn't a little wider or changed from time to time as eventually I do get tired of the same few options.
Free internet via wifi is another welcome offering, somewhat spoiled by painfully slow speeds and the occasional drop-out.
Definitely a place I will visit again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 14 Luxury Rooms, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include our "Champagne" Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambiance of the wine cellar or indulging in a pre-dinner drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE’s renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.