We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Johannesburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Save Saved
You added 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An oasis in Johannesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This small hotel is located in the Houghton Estate area of Johannesburg, close to the golf course and nestled in amongst the wide tree lined avenues and mansions of the rich and famous. Set in its own, beautifully maintained grounds it is an oasis where the sound of the fountains mingles with birdsong in the trees. The rooms are large, well appointed and feel spacious. Little touches such as fresh shortbread to go with your tea/coffee make a difference.

The public areas are an absolute joy, from the sofa's on the veranda to the three different dining areas (in the more formal dining room, on the veranda or poolside on the patio). Indoor, there are more sofa's for lounging on at the end of the day.

The staff are attentive and the restaurant is popular with people who lunch. The breakfast buffet is extensive and varied, with many types of bread, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese, meats and hot dishes. Take your time and enjoy.

The hotel arranged our airport transfers, which worked perfectly, and a taxi to/from a local restaurant. For the airport transfers the hotel provided the drivers name, telephone number and a description so that we could be sure we had the right one. It is about 30 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
17
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Checked in ro 8. Ordered a great snack and tea. Waiters always friendly and greeting me by name.
Outstanding breakfast, especially the scrambled eggs and salmon. Your car is always complimentary washed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had the most amazing dinner with a party of 10pax. This is an old estate with a marvelous garden. They served us dinner on the terrasse.
The service is excellent and the food was delicious.
A great place for a business event.
I did not stay there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and the place is wonderful. Large clean rooms, great food and caring staff . What more could you want? Aldo there js a mall close by for any shopping needs and plenty of eating/drinking venues. I travel regularly to Johannesburg and will definitely stsy here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

2 couples stayed here (2 rooms) on 2 different occasions a week apart recently. We had to overnight in Joburg while we were between safaris. This place is just unbelievable. Beautiful, relaxing, and fabulous food. When we checked out after the first stay, they told us to not worry about paying for the rooms until after our 2nd stay. They were happy to store our extra luggage for the week we were on safari. They even did our laundry at no extra cost! Grant and Peter are extremely gracious hosts. In fact, the entire staff were very helpful and friendly. And, did I mention that the food is fabulous? The chef shared several recipes with us (his leek and potato soup is the best any of us had ever had). So, do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I really enjoy my stays at 10 2nd. Generally high service levels, friendly staff and a convenient location for central Johannesburg make it a relaxing part of my Joburg business trips. The rooms are large and comfortable. I particularly enjoy the smaller size of the hotel, which gives it a more personal feel.
The food deserves special mention - it is exceptional. Just a pity the menu isn't a little wider or changed from time to time as eventually I do get tired of the same few options.
Free internet via wifi is another welcome offering, somewhat spoiled by painfully slow speeds and the occasional drop-out.
Definitely a place I will visit again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saku, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate is a perfect place to stay for those who appreciate a quiet and safe neighbourhood, a lovely (green) view from the window, excellent service (including the daily welcome drink waiting for you), friendly and almost aristocratically polite staff. The rooms are clean and tidy, food is excellent and the help provided is professional. A refreshing start for the day in the hotel swimming pool and relaxing dinner to end the day are equally superb. The guests seem to value the tranquility and respect each others' privacy - a calm and elegant stay guaranteed! We have stayed there twice and are making plans for the next trip...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 14 Luxury Rooms, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include our "Champagne" Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambiance of the wine cellar or indulging in a pre-dinner drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE’s renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.