We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Save Saved
You added 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Safe and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and the place is wonderful. Large clean rooms, great food and caring staff . What more could you want? Aldo there js a mall close by for any shopping needs and plenty of eating/drinking venues. I travel regularly to Johannesburg and will definitely stsy here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
17
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

2 couples stayed here (2 rooms) on 2 different occasions a week apart recently. We had to overnight in Joburg while we were between safaris. This place is just unbelievable. Beautiful, relaxing, and fabulous food. When we checked out after the first stay, they told us to not worry about paying for the rooms until after our 2nd stay. They were happy to store our extra luggage for the week we were on safari. They even did our laundry at no extra cost! Grant and Peter are extremely gracious hosts. In fact, the entire staff were very helpful and friendly. And, did I mention that the food is fabulous? The chef shared several recipes with us (his leek and potato soup is the best any of us had ever had). So, do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I really enjoy my stays at 10 2nd. Generally high service levels, friendly staff and a convenient location for central Johannesburg make it a relaxing part of my Joburg business trips. The rooms are large and comfortable. I particularly enjoy the smaller size of the hotel, which gives it a more personal feel.
The food deserves special mention - it is exceptional. Just a pity the menu isn't a little wider or changed from time to time as eventually I do get tired of the same few options.
Free internet via wifi is another welcome offering, somewhat spoiled by painfully slow speeds and the occasional drop-out.
Definitely a place I will visit again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saku, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate is a perfect place to stay for those who appreciate a quiet and safe neighbourhood, a lovely (green) view from the window, excellent service (including the daily welcome drink waiting for you), friendly and almost aristocratically polite staff. The rooms are clean and tidy, food is excellent and the help provided is professional. A refreshing start for the day in the hotel swimming pool and relaxing dinner to end the day are equally superb. The guests seem to value the tranquility and respect each others' privacy - a calm and elegant stay guaranteed! We have stayed there twice and are making plans for the next trip...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Perfect service, wonderful food ( served in five star style) and a overall super stylish experience. The room was beautiful and clean and we loved the personal touches like home made chocolates next to your bed and shortbread. It really has a personal feel and not just another chain Hotel. We wanted a romantic time for my husbands birthday and it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

No hassle and no fuss at checking in and checking out. My requests were more then adequately met.
The place is ideally situated, peaceful and so damn relaxing.

There is no red tape in this place only charm and elegance.

Room Tip: Make special requests for room and that will be attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing service, beautiful, very clean rooms, fire place (mmmm!), comfortable bedding, wonderful bathroom including bathtub fit for actual bathing (hard to find in any hotel) and just overall relaxing and gorgeous. My only wish is that I had more time to spend there! I will definitely stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 14 Luxury Rooms, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include our "Champagne" Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambiance of the wine cellar or indulging in a pre-dinner drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE’s renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.