We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home and work-place away from office” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Save Saved
You added Melrose Place Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home and work-place away from office”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Having stayed many times at Melrose Place Guest Lodge I only have one word that encapsulates the ambience, service, hospitality, quality of product , and most importantly the staff...and that is world-class. I was able to receive much-appreciated support in fulfilling my work-related obligations using their well-appointed conference room, as well as find a quiet haven with excellent food to settle into at days end. The room was cosy, the bed was comfy and the amenities were exactly what I needed. Thank you Sue and your most able team once again for a memorable, successful and most enjoyable business trip to Johannesburg, South Africa. And ofcourse I will be back !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
JHB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I'm don't usually review the places i stay in but i think melrose place deserves i special mention. Sue was an exceptional hostess who seemed to make every effort to make my stay comfortable. This goes along way in making the stay every worth while. The staff seemed friendly, rooms clean and well looked after. Also a big surprise was the gardens which i was not expecting in such a central area.

Thanks again Sue and the melrose staff

I will be back

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I don't understand the other very positive reviews of this guest lodge and was very disappointed. For the price I would have expected a lot more. It was quite tatty and not particularly clean despite the fact that we had a superior room which had supposedly just been renovated and the carpet in the dining room was realy quite disgusting. I was hoping to use the pool but that also was dirty. The breakfast was very average and the service mediocre. The only positive thing I can say was that the porter, Doomi, was extremely helpful, sweet and enthusiastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suetruter, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at Melrose Place on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry that you were disappointed and left here without mentioning one of these items to us personally. As an owner, I will certainly take your comments as constructive critisism and attend to the items you found displeasing. We pride ourselves on friendliness and personal service and over the last 12 years have enjoyed welcoming hundreds of returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

A lovely Garden Lodge in the near suburbs of Johannesburg.We got a room with garden entrance, beautifully furnished and decorated.The hotel is rather small and intimate. It is easy to get friendly with the other guests in the large,beautiful break-fast room.
The hostess, Sue Truter took excellent care of every guest.She showed a personal interest in a very nice way and was extremely helpful.The staff was also very kind and helpful in every respect.
Harriet Maler

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suetruter, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of Melrose Place, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so easy for us to take for granted the lovely treed environment because we live with it every day. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Have had a very pleasant stay every time. Love the landscaping that provides a sanctuary within the city. Sue and her crew are excellent with the service. There is very reliable transportation available. What can I say - white roses outside the room and the chirping birds set it apart from the other concrete block hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

There is always a great conversation to be had at the dinner table. Far better than eating alone. The guest rooms and clean and comfortable with plenty of room. You will need a car, or a driver as the lodge is a bit away from Melrose Arch and Rosebank. You can walk it during the day. There is always and interesting group of people from all over the world staying here and dining together.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Melrose Place Lodge during our recent visit to my family and friends in Joburg. The hotel was located in one of Joburg's safer neighborhoods (but make no mistake the city is not a conventionally "safe" place) and made us feel welcome, and most importantly safe during our visit thanks to the gate and 24 hour patrol. The garden is lush and green and lovely and the rooms were not "luxurious" by American standards but were very comfortable and clean (though there was a bit of a mosquito problem which the staff offered to solve with sprays - which we elected not to use). Breakfasts were nice - on offer was a selection of cereals, muffins, yogurts and fruits with the option of eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes made by the staff to order. One morning we had fascinating (if not a bit heavy) conversation with two other guests (a writer from the Financial Times and another international couple) on world politics. We would definitely return on our next trip to Joburg, especially as the price was quite reasonable and the accommodation comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Place Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Address: 12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Place Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.