We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable, clean, convenient and cost-effective” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose Place Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 233 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, clean, convenient and cost-effective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Visiting Johannesburg for a one-night stand (to attend a wedding) can be stressful for laid-back Capetonians. How reassuring to find affordable accommodation in a central suburb with all the amenities a traveler could want - and then some! Although we arrived late at night, the security check-in at the gate was both professional and welcoming. The room was more than adequate (MUCH more spacious than 4-star hotels in Europe, South America or Thailand), with an en suite bathroom (shower and bath), large balcony and HUGE, comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious and Sue's warm conversation made us feel like we are old family acquaintances. While we waited to be collected, she hospitably fed us great coffee and muffins. And of course, the real owner, Sooty, did his best to keep us on the couch for him to lie on our laps.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony overlooking the garden is really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
20
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I returned once more to Melrose Place Guest Lodge and was pleased to be welcomed by the same ever-smiling staff which is so re-assuring. The conference was run smoothly and on time with all the amenities at our disposal. Meals and snacks were hearty and delicious. At the end of the day I looked forward to retreating to my peaceful and spacious room. Awoke each morning from a restful sleep on a comfy bed . Great value for money. Looking forward to my next visit. Thanks to Sue and her great staff !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to book Melrose for my overnight during flights in Jo’burg. I had requested a pick up, and Collin greeted me with a name board and big welcoming smile at the airport; would have been nice though to indicate the price to me beforehand when my booking was confirmed . I thought it was included at first. A short 30 minutes ride, we arrived at the Guest House. My room [311] was on the far end, hence very quiet. The room was spacious, contained the necessary. The only thing that bugged me a little was the faucets. In the shower, they did not have an indication which is hot / cold. I had to let the water run for quite a bit until it was actually hot. Collin dropped me off the nearby Rosebank Mall which is very convenient; however, stores close as early as 6pm. Dinner is done on request, but I chose to eat out that night. Breakfast was ok, very family style with large tables for guest to mix and mingle; maybe not ideal when you are a bit of introvert wanting peace in the morning. Sue [the owner I guess] is swarming in the middle making everyone feel at home. In general, all staff was very friendly and helpful which is a definite plus to this place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Forget about staying in a 5 star hotel - this is the place for you. Sue is an outstanding hostess and the room we stayed in was magnificent - we showed it with pride to all our visitors. Breakfasts are all you wish for and the supper Sue prepared for us was delicious. The location is brilliant and Colin is on hand (3 cars!) to take or fetch you wherever you want to go.

Room Tip: We had the best room in the house, but all rooms are lovely. A home from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Was there in 2011. The lady who manages the place, I think Sue was very warm. Food is home cooked and served with love. The guest lodge manager knows every guest by name. It is 5 star service and very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This gorgeous B&B is located in Melrose, a nice and safe neighbourhood within walking distance of Rosebank and about a 5 minute drive from Sandton City. Two blocks away there is a handful of nice and reasonably-priced restaurants, and a 10 minute walk will take you to Rosebank mall and Gautrain Station; we took this new, comfortable and safe high-speed train to visit Pretoria(R82 return fare); the trip was just 20 minutes to Pretoria Station where you can transfer to Gautrain bus(R6 when combined with train) to reach downtown -or just walk.
Back to Melrose Place, we stayed at the second floor, a huge two bedroom apartment, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Beds, linens and towels are first quality which, added to the quietness of the place, will ensure great sleep.
Breakfast is very good and many things are cooked to the order.
Sue, the owner, will make sure you have a great stay and try helping with all your needs, including tourist advice and assistance. There is a nice, safe and comfortable taxi service in the hotel which -in my opinion- happens to be a little expensive according to SA pricing(R120 for a 5-min drive to Sandton City, for example). But if you need it occasionally do not hesitate to take it.
All in all this is a great place to stay, comfortable, spotlessly clean, with excellent service and location.

Room Tip: The apartment at the second floor is perfect for families: huge, quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stay here. Don't stay anywhere else. The rooms are fantastic...the space is quiet...extremely comfortable...the food is very tasty...and the staff wonderful. Far and away the best space in Joburg...look no further.

Room Tip: They're all great - I like the really big suite with private balcony but they're all very wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Place Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Address: 12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Place Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.