We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Winston Hotel to your Saves list
The Winston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
a Night Out Package
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Good value! Friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Nicely decorated, not dated. The food and cocktails are really good! We stayed for 2 nights and were happy with our choice! Location is nice. Lovely district near the center of town. We rented a car at the airport and were very well received. They have their own gated parking spots in the hotel grounds.However the hotel is also only a 5 min walk from the nearest railway station. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    28
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
41
20
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What an evening to remember- perfect to say the least. We decided to have a 60th birthday party at the Winston. The location is brilliant. The staff went way beyond to make this evening so special. The Winston has a private dinning room that was set for the 14 people that were invited to this special occasion. Nothing was too much hassle and the 3 course meal was delicious and well presented. Not one complaint. Well done to all at the Winston and thank you for making this such a memorable occasion for all.

Room Tip: Excellent Location and easy access to malls, gautrain and other areas of interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had two nights to recover from a long filght and get our ground legs for the rest of our trip. This place was perfect. It is located near the huge African Crafts Market in the Rosebank area for souvenir shopping and convenient to the airport. Has a residential feeling and a gracious management team. The beds were wonderful and the dining staff went out of their way to stay open for us when our plane was delayed. Only downside was there were some problems with the internet access. I would heartily recommend it and woudl stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pros: Good looking hotel; quick check-in; mostly efficient helpful staff; convenient location; clean; food was great; afternoon tea was quite nice but they stinted a bit on the scones & tiny teapots

Cons: Sometimes you wait too long (up to 11minutes one night! eek) at the gate to be let in it frays the nerves as Jhb / Africa is known for crime; there is a cat on premises which as an allergy sufferer I was not made aware of; after very long exhausting travels across SA we put the 'Do Not Disturb Sign' up on door only to be woken at crack of dawn for room service order which wasn't ours Grr!!; then next morning the same thing happened except this time it was the room telephone blaring - reception waking us & asking what we'd already confirmed with reception desk the night before (double grr)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wädenswil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel itself is located near Rosenbank. If you need to be sure to have a relaxing end to your hectic business day, this is the place to be. The hotel itself only has some 30 beds. Everything is taken care of with lots of love to details, maybe a bit close of even overdoing it.

If going to Johannesburg again, I know at least where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Taking my Japanese fiancé back to South Africa for the second time, we were surprised by my best friends who gave us a night at The Winston as an engagement present. Having grown up in Johannesburg and using Rosebank as my regular stomping ground throughout university, I was still surprised that such an oasis of a hotel existed in the middle of the city hustle bustle. At times a Greek villa, at times a European chalet, The Winston is bursting with style and charm. The service was impeccable and I would gladly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my own hide away spot in the middle of Johannesburg. Perfect for either a loooong lunch or weekend getaway.

Spacious rooms and attentive service. I would recommend this for both business and vacationing travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.