We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis even locals do not know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winston Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Winston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Winston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
a Night Out Package
Ranked #7 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Wädenswil
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An oasis even locals do not know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel itself is located near Rosenbank. If you need to be sure to have a relaxing end to your hectic business day, this is the place to be. The hotel itself only has some 30 beds. Everything is taken care of with lots of love to details, maybe a bit close of even overdoing it.

If going to Johannesburg again, I know at least where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
28
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sapporo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Taking my Japanese fiancé back to South Africa for the second time, we were surprised by my best friends who gave us a night at The Winston as an engagement present. Having grown up in Johannesburg and using Rosebank as my regular stomping ground throughout university, I was still surprised that such an oasis of a hotel existed in the middle of the city hustle bustle. At times a Greek villa, at times a European chalet, The Winston is bursting with style and charm. The service was impeccable and I would gladly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my own hide away spot in the middle of Johannesburg. Perfect for either a loooong lunch or weekend getaway.

Spacious rooms and attentive service. I would recommend this for both business and vacationing travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Returning to South Africa a second time on a business trip I felt compelled to return to this amazing hotel. Yet again, the service was impeccable, the rooms and restaurant were outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning on my next visit to South Africa. Thank you for another great and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Could not fault this impeccable hotel, stayed here on a business trip and loved every moment! Truly a world class boutique hotel! Rooms were stylish and spacious. Restaurant was superb and the bar a happening hot spot! Highly recommended and will definitely return - thank you for the great experience

Room Tip: Courtyard suite was fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately for us, we only stayed at the Winston for one night. The hotel is a beautiful boutique-style hotel with a lovely central courtyard containing pool, small garden and outdoor dining areas for the restaurant. The rooms have high ceilings, a separate shower and tub, tall windows and a very comfortable bed (my fiancée insisted I take a photograph of the mattress tag so that we could find it later!). Near our room at the top of the stairs, there was a sitting area with a nice selection of books on Africa and South Africa; I wish that we had stayed another few nights if only to spend some time perusing them!

The included breakfast is in the very nice hotel restaurant and was as good a menu selection as I've seen in an included hotel breakfast.

We chose the Winston due to its proximity to the Gautrain to the airport and to Park Station, as we were enroute to take the train to Cape Town and had no need for a rental car. We also received a very good rate for this style of property, and as I was not familiar with Jo'burg felt that the property and neighborhood would be a good place to spend the night. The Winston is located a short two-block walk from the Rosebank Gautrain station in a pleasant neighborhood. The Mall of Rosebank is also only a couple of blocks away, with its many shops and restaurants. That being said, when we arrived in the early evening and wanted to walk around to find a little place to eat, the manager on duty strongly recommended we did not as it was growing dark. (He said that he'd lived in the area for many years and would not hesitate himself, but as we were new to Jo'burg it would be best not to...being an experienced enough traveler I poked my head around and didn't find anything within walking distance, since the mall was closed!) We ended up eating at the hotel bar, and the food was fine.

Room Tip: Our room faced out into the car park (which is actually a cobbled, leafy area within the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Winston Hotel, located just behind the Rosebank Gautrain is a stunning boutique hotel with a standard of excellence that catered and provided a beautiful setting for our ideal intimate wedding.

The events manager, Lana, was very accommodating with our requests. She even sourced an arch and blue carpet for the ceremony we had on the outside terrace.
The rooms all have personal character and truly boutique with exquisite furnishes such as the Winsor chairs, tasteful art work, mirrors and special touches. The food is excellent with a crumptious selection available for a set menu. The salmon starter, springbok shank and cheesecake were our personal favourite.
The waiters are friendly, experienced and provided an excellent service to our guests.

We would recommend the Winston Hotel based on their outstanding 5 star offering

Room Tip: We had a balcony room which overlooked the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.