We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Winston Hotel to your Saves list
The Winston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
a Night Out Package
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I often spend time relaxing at the pool . The Winston has a personal touch which is missing in so many Joburg hotels . Every detail is tasteful and personalised . A great place for functions and weddings ... location is central just across from the Gautrain and Sunday fleamarket .. Great food

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    22
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here on my way to safari and again on my way home, to London. The rooms are spacious, spotless and sumptuous! I chose this hotel because I was a solo female traveller and did not want to feel like 'just another guest'. Everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome and I felt very safe and comfortable. The food was delicious and the wine selection excellent.

The proximity to the Gautrain is a great advantage, great new trains, very safe and inexpensive, airport to hotel in 30 mins.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel while we waited for renovations in our new house to be completed. Hotel is great, but service is exceptionally slow in the restuarant. We also had dinner several times before our stay there, and even then service during dinner was very slow. Both dinner and breakfast service was significantly below average. Would be great if they had a spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinstonHotel342, General Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We regret to hear that you experienced slow service with us. To us, guest satisfaction is paramount and we thank you for your feedback. We strive to make each and every guest's experience memorable and we will prioritize this matter immediately. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent three nights in Johannesburg after a safari and I am really glad I chose the Winston. It is well-appointed and comfortable, with very accomodating service and excellent food. Quick walk to the Gautrain and the Rosebank Mall, with a reasonable African Crafts Market open 9-6 every day. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I felt compelled to write a review for the Winston because my time here had been so superb. I arrived after a two week safari for two nights of relaxation before heading back to Australia. The Winston has been perfect. It's a short five minute walk from the Rosebank Gautrain and in comparison to the other gargantuan global hotels in the area, it dazzles with personality. The rooms are decorated with beautiful French provincial furniture and my room had really lovely little African touches. The beds are very comfortable and right now I'm lucky enough to open my balcony door to a stunning blossoming jacaranda tree. The bathrooms are modern and have separate shower and bathtub and the whole room has plenty of space to relax and unwind. I've had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both meals have been just delicious. There were quite a few non hotel guests in the restaurant last night, so it's nice to see that both locals and visitors appreciate the food. I should also make mention of the common areas - there is a lovely pool which is currently swaddled with roses and spring blooms and there are quite a few places around the hotel to sit with a book or magazine and relax.
I have to commend the Winston. I came in the hotel feeling dirty and beaten down and I'm leaving today feeling replenished. If you're looking for a place to stay that is a bit more boutique and personal whilst still having plenty of amenities to enjoy, the Winston is it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our plans changed at the last moment, so need to book an extra nights accommodation in Johannesburg before flying out to Uganda.

We found this little gem on wotif.com and what a find it was.

The rooms are truly incredible, the staff amazing.. Food exceptional! I had the best ever steak here in my life.. and that is after dinning at some of the best restaurants in the world. Perfectly cooked fillet that melted in my mouth!

Catch the train from OR Tambo to Sandton, change over to the Rosebank line and they will meet you at the train station, it is truly a 3 min walk..

Staff are incredible!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hi, we are still here, and cannot wait to review it, as every day we are more happy to be here.
The room is perfect, the bed is great, with softest crispy white sheets, perfect mattress.
Roomy, everything you may need , no noise at all , and nice decoration.
The common areas are also perfect, inside lots of couches to relax, outside also , and the restaurant is a highlight ! The food is perfect, delicious, and always the different flavours mixed in every dish make our dinning or lunch experience a real joy !
But what really makes this hotel so remarkable is the people who work here , always ready to assist you , with a big smile , making your Johannesburg stay a real pleasure. If you want the best , come here , you wont want to leave !

Room Tip: we are in room 29 facing parking place , there is no noise at all during night , sunny perfect ,blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.