We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Lodge

Tudor Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tudor Lodge
4 Oranje Avenue | Gallo Manor, Johannesburg 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Paris
1 review
“A warm stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I am from France and I stayed 1 month at the Tudor Lodge where the atmosphere was really warm.
The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable, the food very good and the security optimal.
Therefore, I really recommend this place for stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
3
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My business colleague and I booked into the Tudor lodge on Saturday 12 may 2012.
Tired,we were met by Mohammed and Norma ,who immediately booked us in,warmly and efficiently.We especially appreciated them offering us some refreshment,almost like a traditional lodge must have been ,200 years ago.
We found the lodge very warm and inviting.The setting from the dining room is magnificient.One is surrounded by trees and a magnificient rock pool.The atmosphere is very tranquil and relaxing.Too think that this oasis exists a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Sandton.!

Room Tip: Room 9 is very spacious and special.The garden rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed for a week at Tudor Lodge on the high recommendations from business associates.

A special and heartfelt mention must be made to the manager Norma and her team who went out of their way to ensure my stay was a very worthwhile one.

I enjoyed the recently renovated rooms and felt very warm in the cosy atmosphere. I was completely at ease with the security around the property and was also assured of the very good relationship they have with the armed response companies and local police station, situated not more than 100m away.

Easy access to shopping amenities was a big plus for me.

Exactly what I was looking for - a home away from home. Thanks Tudor Lodge, you will see me back again when I travel back to South Africa.

Next time I hope to see the elusive tortoise!!!

Room Tip: Just ask Norma!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitwe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

choose tudor lodge as your home from home.Rooms and meals are okay and manageable

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Was booked in here for 6 nights in December. Arrived about 20.00 to be checked into a room in the rafters. Room booked was a double, this room was a twin, beds on either side of the room. Trying to explain to the staff member that checked us in that a double was required was met with a complete lack of comprehension.

The room was completely unacceptable, broken tiles in the bathroom, rusted shower frame, wires tacked all over the room, tv so high in the roof you could only watch it lying in bed, peeling paint, gaps in the door to outside, bad tv reception etc etc.

The next day we asked to move to a double room which was available. This room was better in that it was larger and had a double bed but the same issues of lack of maintenance and looked like someone had smoked in here for twenty years without a lick of paint to freshen up. Got back to the room in the evening to find water on the bedroom floor and the toilet leaking water in the bathroom. Again, little tv reception, bad maintenance and wires everywhere? The noise from the staffs kids playing in the garden was like being on a rollercoaster with kids screaming.The last straw was waking up the next morning to find clothes in one of the wardrobes were soaking wet without any sign of where the water was coming from?

Wifi costs extra, breakfast costs extra, security is minimal for Johannesburg.

Whats good about this place? There is a large tortoise in the garden with the guest houses' telephone number written on its shell.....perhaps it had tried to get away out of embarrasment.

There are two properties called Tudor Lodge on the same street. This was meant to be the better of the two, I dread to think how bad the other one is.

Room Tip: From what i saw, there were no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Tiny rooms, very small bathroom...though the staff are very friendly. Spent one month there in february 2011.
Great breakfast, though not all rooms have a functional microwave. Room at R600 B&B

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Truly terrible place. The rooms are dirty and the place is derilict. The security seems to be severely lacking too with no electric wire on the perimeter walls of what was a residential house. Absolutely avoid.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: 4 Oranje Avenue | Gallo Manor, Johannesburg 2052, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tudor Lodge to your Saves list