We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Walking History Tour & Real SA Life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Western Townships

South Western Townships
Soweto, Johannesburg, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Visit South Western Townships like an insider
Special Offer
$159*
and up
Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour...
Ranked #6 of 122 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Walking History Tour & Real SA Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to Soweto to see Nelson Mandela's home, although small it was quite interesting and informative. Total time there was about an hour. In the Soweto area down the hill from his house are a few popular bars and restaurants that the food was good at. We also spent another hour or more walking through Soweto on the walking tour they have where you can read about various parts of the history of the school uprising, a historic shooting, and various other events leading to the downfall of the Apartheid government. We found the people to be friendly while we were walking on the streets during the day and wanting to start dialog randomly, but would probably only stay near the restaurants during the night. Just be aware of your surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    100
    26
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Soweto Tour with Taste of Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My coworker and I were in Johannesburg for 48 hours on business and found ourselves with a free day. We had wanted to go to the Apartheid Museum, but it was Monday, and that museum is closed on Mondays. So we learned about some of the other things to do in the area, and a Soweto tour looked like the thing to do. It was an excellent use of our time and I'm glad we did it.

We booked a tour with Taste of Africa. It looked like a good tour because the price was right and it advertised itself as "not a 'zoo' tour." Cedric picked us up and dropped us off in Soweto where we met our tour guide, a woman who lives there. She gave us a great overview of South Africa's history, we saw a lot of historical sites, had lunch at a nice small local restaurant (lots of great food for not much money!), walked around, rode in multiple van taxis, felt safe the whole time. Our guide was knowledgable and answered all of our questions, ranging from politics to what her typical day is like. Just a great combination of taking in history and culture.

The restaurant had a bathroom. There were four of us, and none of us really had to use one all day except at the restaurant.

Bring a water bottle, because you're walking around a lot. However, there are opportunities to buy stuff like water bottles.

I admit I was hesitant about taking a tour of Soweto (white foreign tourist, first time in the country, wasn't sure how it would go), but like most people will say, everyone was friendly and it went well.

Expect to encounter opportunities to donate to organizations doing some good work to help break the cycle of poverty.

If you go in August, bring a jacket. It was cold.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kilptown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Soweto. Our hide was great and in the short time we had were given a comprehensive tour. Had a delicious lunch. We visited Kliptown Youth Program which was enlightening and humbling to hear and see what these young men and women are doing to help the youth in their community. Giving them training and self respect. well done! good to see the positive side.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Real Johannesburg experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the real Johannesburg experience as about half of Joburg's population reside here. More substantial than wasting away all your time in Rosebank, Melrose, etc. If you want a distinct cultural experience and perspective, visit SOWETO!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hope”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well, a place with a heavy past history, with tragic events that changed the face of the country... A little touristic in some places (the avenue of the 2 nobel prizes) but a real punch in your guts when crossing the "informal settlements" (kliptown) and realizing the hope some people are carrying to help things moving ahead (visit http://www.sky-basement.com/index.php)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Western Townships also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to South Western Townships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Western Townships, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.