We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have no words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qunu Restaurant

Qunu Restaurant
36 Saxon road, Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 292 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 816 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, African, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I have no words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I have for a few weeks been trying to think of words to describe the experience that is The Saxon. Truly speaking, there are no words to describe this place. They have two restaurants and both are outstanding. You have to experience it to understand.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tucked away in the a very exclusive suburb of Sandton, this huge property has hosted, wined and dined many famous people including presidents, talk show hosts and other interesting people.

Accessible only through booking (which is essential), you can choose from full meals through to afternoon tea at the large pool area. A walk in the grounds is also very relaxing.

Good quality is generally always of a high standard even though choice on the buffet style engagement is sometimes limited and does not change very often. So for a tourist or out of town visitor, you will definitely enjoy the experience.

Great for family meals inside or outside

Best to use a GPS especially at night as this is a secured residential zone which means that whilst there are good signposts, if you miss one, you can end up a little lost in the residential roads

A very good selection of wines and other specialised drinks if required

The hotel itself is expensive but worth a night or two if paying from euros/ dollars/ other. Small but workable gym. Great pool and access to business services

I always find the staff wonderful, friendly and well-trained. Staff who know us always remember us and greet by name. We always get offered our outside favourite table near the koi pond and its magical at night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great spa, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

great spa and excllent ambiance. price tag is hefty though and pehaps one of the most expensive spas in the country. i wudl know, i ve done pretty much all the top ones.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“World class cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Qunu is absolutely superb. The decor is phenomenal; light, breezy, airy, and absolutely oozing class and sophistication. The restaurant’s centrepiece is a huge stone urn with massive, gnarled branches worked into the shape of a tree. Woven baskets as light fixtures give off a wonderful, mottled light and the hanging gardens on the walls are magnificent. There’s an enormous water feature right up against the back wall where we were sitting that completed the ambiance. The service was phenomenal, and we were well taken care of from start to finish by two waiters and a sommelier, despite the fact that we drank sparkling wine all night.

The food was excellent, as you’d expect from a restaurant that’s under the watchful eye of executive chef David Higgs. I had a Cobb salad to start, which was deliciously fresh with herbs and vegetables from the restaurant’s garden. For my main meal, I had the pork belly cooked in duck fat and served with roasted fennel and mash. It was salty and hearty and soft and wonderful. For dessert, we shared a board of imported cheeses accompanied by pickled wild mushrooms and rock sugar. It was a wonderful, wonderful eating experience, and while probably not quite at the fine dining level (Qunu is billed as a grill restaurant) it was great. It’s a bit on the expensive side, but for a special occasion and if its sister restaurant 500 is out of your price range, I’d recommend it quite highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton,South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fit for a King.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Qunu is the traditional home of our revered Nelson Mandela in the Eastern Cape, and this restaurant at the 5* Saxon Hotel in Sandhurst is named after this special place. The ambiance of this well lit welcoming restaurant is further enhanced by the excellent service and the usual outstanding food. Take note of the vertical garden wall, its something to see. The Saxon never disappoints. Visit the organic rooftop vegetable garden while you are there. Out on the deck you can enjoy the beautiful garden and infinity pool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qunu Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Qunu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qunu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.