We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do activity with kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort

Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort
Plot 3 Melodie Hartbeespoort | 45 mins from Jhb and Pta towards Sun City, Johannesburg 0260, South Africa
712987708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Tours, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must do activity with kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great family activity to do near Pretoria. Views you will find nowhere else in Gauteng.

Have a beer or glass of wine whilst looking into the distance.

Food options not that nice and geared towards the mass market. If you are looking for something nice and upmarket then do lunch in Hartbeespoort and then the cableway afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review , we believe in family fun and adventure .We are currently upgrading or food outlets on the mountain to assist with the masses and are currently changing the restaurant at the base of the mountain to a family eatery.
We look forward to your future visits

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    79
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
JHB
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I really enjoyed going on the Aerial Cableway. It's important to choose a day that is clear and not cloudy because it's all about the views. Their are restaurants on top so you can have an enjoyable meal while enjoying the views of Harbeespoort, Johannesburg and Pretoria. Do check if you can tickets online it might work out cheaper.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Excellent 360 degree panoramic views of the surrounding area is what we have and since the day of opening we have not closed once. We are thrilled you enjoyed your outing and look forward to your next visit

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Table Mountain in Gauteng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a great place to go to and explore the facilities were way beyond what was expected . An outing you can do with friends and family

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Reviews are vital for our property , We may not look over the ocean but offer fantastic panoramic views of some of the Oldest Mountains in the world.

Looking forward to your future visits

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“World Class Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The queuing procedure is slick and moves quickly. Once up on the mountain, the paths are clearly sign posted and there is plenty of look out points. It is truly a lovey outing and well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We appreciate your review and words of encouragement ,The Harties Cableway has seen over 350 000 guests on top of the mountain since opening in July 2012 and believe in Family adventure.
We look forward to your future visits

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Harties cable way is a worthwhile day trip be it for a family or a group of friends or couples. They are very organised and we felt very safe in the cable way trip up and down. Once on the top you get a bird's eye view of the whole place around , from Hartbeespoort dam to the majestic Magaliesberg mountains !! And if its a clear day , the views are splendid. At the top apart from enjoying the view you can have some snacks from the food joints or walk the trails or do some shopping or just relax. :) For the adventurous paragliding and abseiling are available. Make sure you visit the place once when in Gauteng !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments, We believe in Explore- Adventure - Delight and by reading your review we did exactly that. we look forward to your future visits

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.