We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort

Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort
Plot 3 Melodie Hartbeespoort | 45 mins from Jhb and Pta towards Sun City, Johannesburg 0260, South Africa
712987708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Tours, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breath-taking View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was one the most beautiful spots that I have visited. We went up in the late afternoon, as it was summer. It was quiet and peaceful at the time, as most visitors were on their way down. The cable ride is stable, and gives the most amazing experience while climbing up the mountain. At the top, we had a clear and stunning view of the Dam. There is also a small play area for children, swings and a Jungle Gym. The Dassie Walk/Trail was informative as well as giving us more to see. The Pizza Place serves the most amazing Pizza, but I would not recommend the Burgers or Wors Rolls on sale at the shop on the level below. As much as the smell was enticing, the meat didn't go down well. All in all the service was amazing, and it was a worthwhile trip. There is a fee of R140 to take the Cable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding our property and rest assured I will look into the quality of the food you have mentioned.I have to admit that our Pizzas are large and extremly popular and thank you for the positve comments.We believe in customer service and look forward to your future visits. Best Regards Iain Gunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    78
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal Weekend place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are bored with mall and restaurant, within an hour drive from jo'bur you reach to this beautiful place called Harbeespoort.

The cabel car stretching up mountain side is 1.2km long. It carry around 6 passenger at a time. View from to is spectacular with a small walk. They have a restaurant, pizza shack and lookout Bar. Kids can enjoy too.Also you have lots of activity to do in this area.

Get set ready for weekend ))
Tickets rate for Adult is R120 but if you buy online its for R100. So book in advance.
Huge free parking!

Cheers!
Bon weekend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Just an update .. The ticket price is R140.00 per adult and on line R120.00. Children aged 4-14 are R80.00. If its your birthday you ride for free. Pensioners are not forgotton and tickets are available at the ticket office at R100.00 ( remember your ID to qualify)
We are open 365 days a year and our first car up is at 09h00.

Happy Holidays .Explore-Adventure--Delight and we are 100% disability friendly.

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic views - a well spent morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is really a worthwhile visit if in this area - the cable car is efficient and clean, the staff polite and helpful and the views are really worth the money. There is a short "nature" trail at the top and cafes and a shop, but the view over Hartbeespoort dam to the south and north towards Pilanesberg steal the show.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Class Venue just 40 min from Fourways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Read about the newly renovated cableway at Hartbeespoort Dam so decided to take my brother and his family who are visiting from the UK there for lunch. It was fantastic. The facility is world class, the views were superb, the weather was awesome and the surrounding bush was lush. We had a great day out.

The only real criticism I have that needs to be addressed urgently is a safety concern along the the balustrade up the side of the ramp leading to the cableway cars at the bottom of the mountain. There are large gaps in the balustrade that small children could fall through. The same goes for the restaurant Bugatti Taste Cafe. There needs to be some sort of safety restraint if a small child stands on the bench seats below the windows. For the time being, if you have tiny tots, watch them carefully.




Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the advice and I will ensure we look into the safety issues you have mentioned.We appreciate all the comments thus allowing us to ensure all our guests have an amazing days outing.
Best Regards
Iain Gunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great outing at Harties Cableway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A spontaneous excursion turned out to be a good day. Only 40 min from JHB to the cableway, plenty of secure parking, prams are allowed as long as they fold up. There is a bit of a wait but that adds to the excitement. It is beautiful, with awesome views, well kept pathway, informative signage, amenities new and clean. We ate at the self service restuarant and then experienced the mother of all storms whilst eating pizza really enchanting (the cable car stops when there is lightening). Lucky we came prepared with light rain jackets. We enjoyed the experience. Our advice is go early, avoid the queues.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aerial Cableway Harbeespoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.