We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting on a gold mine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Reef City

Gold Reef City
Off Xavier Road, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 248-6800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 121 things to do in Johannesburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive gold-mining experiences are the highlight of this theme park, which also contains the standard thrill rides and games.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sitting on a gold mine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited purely to go down the gold mining museum. A video introduction (about 15 mins) followed by a trip down the mine itself and ending with the gold pouring demonstration - all in all a fascinating experience that takes about 1 and1/2 hours.
As a take way memento we had a reproduction photo taken with us in the mining outfits and made to look as if we were down in the mine itself. Lovely touch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    304
    154
    38
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better experience this time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Better experience this time around. took my niece and nephew had a great time. A few rides were closed but had a good time overall

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inhassoro, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Fun overall.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Benn to Gold Reef City many times, and never disapoints. Depending on what you're looking for funwise, it has something to your taste. Will keep you busy for the whole day, and you'll have a blast. Shame some rides are closed sometimes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have nothing to compare to as this was my first visit to such a theme park. I had the time of my life. Due to limited time, we opted to go on the "thrilling" rides only. The Anaconda was my first stop and I would urge that you try it for a memorable experience. The Jozi express is equally enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not what it used to be, suffering from neglect. I wouldn't visit in a hurry! In dire need of work and not looking like a tourist destination.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Reef City also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gold Reef City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Reef City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.