We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers Day Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Delices De France, Johannesburg, South Africa

Les Delices De France, Johannesburg, South Africa
Corner Gordon Road & Keith Ave, Roodepoort, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 027 8668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 755 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Fathers Day Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really pleased to have found a French restaurant on the West Rand and close to home. Decided to try on Fathers Day. Our first visit and most certainly not our last!! Food - excellent and so reminded us of what we have enjoyed in France before. Snails with artichokes etc - no cream, garlic or brown bread fingers in sight!! Excellent! My main of pork fillet in puff pastry - mmmmmm! So often, one has a great meal but desserts (which are often bought in / made by others / look good but taste of nothing etc etc) are a total let down - not at LDLF!!! Yumbledy-yum is word (!!!) best used to describe. Service great too!! Authentic French food with flair. Great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    26
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not of the good standard as last time?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch at this delightful restaurant. More tables than before so a good sign! The French/Belgium? lady telling us about the specials was excellent in her descriptions. The waiters were adequate but no side plates??? 3 tiny slices of bread for 2? The first course was good- salmon carparccio good and fresh.

The main course was so disappointing though: I have had it before at this restaurant so my partner ordered it as well. We ordered the Beef Chateaubriand with a Bearnaise sauce. Firstly the beef filet was cut from the END bit full of gristle and sinew. Chateaubriand is supposed to be cut from the thickest part of the filet(.Lots of digging out of teeth unfortunately!) The Bearnaise sauce was well emulsified but there was a strange taste that just did not compliment the sauce (like allspice?) and lingered un-invitingly inside my mouth. The amount of veggies that was supposed to accompany the main was very little -2 sliced carrot pieces, a few green beans UN-TRIMMED and the end bit of a zucchini.

Les Delices De France will have to up their standards before I will patron them again. BTW the wine was good but hey such a mark-up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true French restaurant in the West Rand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Who would have thought it? A wonderfully French restaurant in the West Rand of Gauteng. Not me. I followed the advise of other reviewers to try something new on out "date night" and was not disappointed. Having booked a little late (5pm for 7pm dinner) we were sat next to the bathroom door, but this was never a problem.

The food was wonderful. The wine list was also good and reasonably priced. While not a cheap dinner out, it is definitely worth a visit and a re-visit and maybe a once every two month visit. :)

The maître d provided excellent service and advice, even if some of it was in French. The rest of the staff seem to still be getting used to the fact of serving food they can't fathom or pronounce, so some work is still needed there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jnb
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional French without the snobbery in JHB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Tripe is not thenormal way to advertise something, but if you know how difficult it is to do with flair, it is the way to give a accolade to a restaurant. Souffle cheese and chocolate were devoured by everybody (as one would expect from the reviews). The cheese board was real, no faux Gouda and a the well balanced plate was a treat.The freshly Scottish salmon was serviche'd for a few minutes, leaving it creamy and tart; no tired old rubbery leftover in the back of the fridge- the real deal.
It is not a idealistic weekend spot.If you like good food and a place to find it reminiscent France not on the tourist route and not a Sandton mall strip, try this.
The chef knows his stuff. None of the looking down on the nose, often a mark of a bad chef;
his was the excitement of the passionate. Take a few minutes to go there, before the others claim it as their own discovery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Superb food! A real taste sensation. Classical french menu, expertly prepared. We were a party of 8 and everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. Highly recommended, despite being somewhat out of the way location wise.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Delices De France, Johannesburg, South Africa also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Les Delices De France, Johannesburg, South Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Delices De France, Johannesburg, South Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.