We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Milpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Garden Court Milpark to your Saves list
Garden Court Milpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Empire and Owl Streets | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2073, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Dundee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel is in a very bad condition,staff unfriendly and not at all helpful,YES they say it is a very old Hotel but being filthy id not any excuse especiall being a Southern Sun Hotel

Room Tip: ALL rooms very bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickeyR100, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Saira B

Thank you very much for your feedback and kindly accept our sincere apology as this is not our normal standard at Garden Court Hatfield.

You’re sincerely
Mickey Rautenbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
10
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip and hated every minute of it. The rooms are old and outdated and the hotel itself can do with a complete makeover.
The breakfast is weak and the location is dark and dangerous. You never feel safe in this area.
The smoking rooms have a stale smell as if they were not aired out properly. I am a frequent guest but was never acknowledged as one at check-in which is a let down considering the amount of business i give the group. From here i flew to Cape Town and stayed at Garden Court Eastern Boulevard and the difference in service was extreme. Eastern Boulevard reckonised me as a frequent guest and even supplied my morning newspaper as promised. Far cry from Milpark where i never got my paper.
Oh and they dont have showers...the shower over the bath scenario is pretty annoying as there are puddles on the floor when you are done... how many businessmen have the time to soak in the tub in the morning??
I will not be back....ever!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arrived here at 11pm and it took reception staff 25 min to check us inn. First they could not find our reservation even though we had print outs of confirmation from online booking, then the printer was not working. Rooms were dated but clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Well, I am not really sure how to rank this hotel (thus the three star "average" rating).
It is so far the only hotel I have ever stayed at in South Africa so I have nothing to compare it to.

The front desk office staff was very accommodating and helpful. Some of them went out of their way to help me out. The bell hop was also quite pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was nice and the wait staff were all super friendly and courteous.

But the rooms. yi yi yi yi yi Just awful! One night my room was over a very loud parking lot with people drinking to all hours. The other three nights I was in a different room and was kept awake with the road noise. The rooms are small, somewhat dingy and not well appointed. The bathroom was a joke. The internet service almost non service-able. And you have to pay for the fitness center which is through a garage and up an escalator. I think it was $12 USD.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night.
I've had good experiences at garden courts before, but this wasn't that. isolated feel, outdated rooms with old fashioned aircon - room service food was terrible...AND they don't offer a port service from the car park across the road so you have to lug your bags yourself..
At breakfast they offer you a coffee to go service but they did not have any take away cups...
This hotel was my hotel of choice from 2004 until 2006 and then started to go downhilll fast.
I will not stay here by choice again!! I

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixopo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

very nice place to stay, the only bad part is we arrived at the hotel at 01:00 and it took us an hour to check in to 8 rooms and we were the only people there to check in. then finally when we get to our rooms the cards never work and some were mixed up.
other than that its a nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Thank goodness I was only booked here for one night! I've had good experiences at other southern sun and garden courts before, but this wasn't that. Institutional feel, dated 70's rooms with Formica etc urgently needing refurb, poor food, luke-warm shower, horrible lobby,... I could go on, but you get the picture. It would be more acceptable if the price was in keeping with the location and quality, but there is just no relation - way overpriced.
On the plus side... Friendly staff, comfortable mattress, and that's about it.
Recommendation: go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Address: Cnr Empire and Owl Streets | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2073, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand and Johannesburg or the Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Garden Court Milpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Milpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;