We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD SHOPPING EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte casino bird park

Monte casino bird park
1 Monte Casino Blvd, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 121 things to do in Johannesburg
Attraction details
Durban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GOOD SHOPPING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The shopping experience at the Monte Casino Shopper's Arena - was the highlight of the trip - excellent variety, good prices and a good selection of food outlets. the scenery and theme was outstanding - not very little kids friendly more a social hangout for wannbe adults however a respectable social interaction.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barneveld, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice park, for 2-3 hours with Children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Today I visited the bird park, I was curious. There is enough to watch and to discover, quite a a lof of birds (luckily mainly form Africa) some monkeys and reptiles. So all good fun for the youngsters. Every 2 hours there is a show (I just missed it) but I have seen big snakes and a owl they were carrying around.

Nice! but only with children

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This park is worth a visit! It was a very hot day and was nice to see the birds having a bath under the hose pipe sprays! I didn't visit the reptiles as I have a phobia but really enjoyed the variety of birds there! The bird show we thoroughly enjoyed, keep up the good work!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Feathered Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The best place to learn about nature, and in particular our feathered friends, is to pay a visit to a bird park or zoo. And the Montecasino Bird Park will not disappoint.

Besides the many aviaries housing a host of birds from all corners of the globe, there are also educational and entertaining shows that will captivate young and old.

For budding photographers, this is closest to the real thing! I usually pack an assortment of cameral lenses to experiment and hone my skills.

One cage is "open air" and one can even interact with the birds by feeding them. Careful though, as some of the occupants pack a nasty bite!

The largest "open air" cage houses mostly indigenous bird species; and a casual stroll along the pathway and around the water feature is most relaxing.

The attraction also boasts some slithery creatures and fearsome looking iguanas.

Industrious meercats enjoy their own desert enclosure almost exactly like the sandy, sun drenched environment that they naturally occur in.

Colourful Amazon parrots adorn the centre of the park, bringing exotic colour to a brilliant venue.

Shrimp-coloured flamingos gracefully filter water through their beaks, sharing their kingdom with a host of other water fowl, ducks and geese.

I will return again and again to a very well-maintained parkland that is almost manicured to perfection. What I appreciate most is the extent to which the surroundings in the cages have been replicated to mimic a natural environment.

My biggest gripe would be children that are left to their own devices teasing the wildlife. This is a huge "No! No!" in my book. Parents should use this opportunity of educating the youth of our natural heritage.

A small coffee shop inside the bird park has all the requirements to quell a thirst while resting your tired legs.

Whilst there, a ride on the hot air balloon right at the entrance is a worthwhile detour to get an eagle's view of the surrounding area.

Mementos of your visit can be purchased as the ticket counter on your way out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Colourful Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were fortunate to pay less than half price entrance fee since it was just an hour & a half before closing time. Still we could enjoy the full beauty of this amazing bird park! It was still sunny and warm while we wandered along the enchanted walkways within the garden viewing a wide variety of colourful birds, mammals and other species. The walk-through Aviary hosts more than 60 species of birds including the Scarlet Ibis, Nicobar pigeons, mammals (Sloths, Lemurs, Meerkats) and we even saw some smaller antelope. Inside the Lorikeet Aviary we were thrilled when tame birds climbed onto us to drink from the nectar that we bought at the ticket office. The Frog Room was very humid, but interesting with its variety of frogs, scorpions and spiders on display. We sure spent a wonderful time interacting with the tame birds and viewing the other colourful species at Montecasino Bird Gardens.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte casino bird park also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Monte casino bird park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte casino bird park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.