We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eye opener” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sci-Bono Discovery Centre

Sci-Bono Discovery Centre
Corner of Miriam Makeba & President Street | Newtown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
27 11 639 8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 121 things to do in Johannesburg
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An eye opener”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Despite wanting to see the Bodyworks exhibition at Sci-Bono Discovery Centre for months, I kept procrastinating. Finally on the 27th June '13 my daughter and I made it there. Parking was adequate and I started to relax about the whole "downtown Jozi" experience. The staff there are helpful, friendly and eager to please. Bodyworks was the most humbling exhibition I have ever attended anywhere in the world. It was faultless, informative and incredibly moving - the stages of the foetuses took my breath away and made me more in awe of the circle of life. I have also always wanted to see nerve endings isolated from the rest of the body - and one exhibit showed exactly that. I also never knew what cancer looked like - now I do. The centre is a brilliant concept for all ages and I hope it goes from strength to strength

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is a really great outing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are so many interesting exhibits. My kids are only four and six, and they really enjoy it even though most of the exhibits are for kids into their late teens.

A superb learning environment - and I even enjoyed partaking in the activities. I have been twice and will be back again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BodyWorks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Humbled by this awesome display. Fascinating, but did not find it gruesome. The human body is truly a masterpiece. The rental of an audio device provides additional information on the various exhibits. Very worthwhile visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“tactile wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I first discovered the Sci Bono centre when i was asked to pay for 25 kids from an informal settlement In Denver Johannebsurg to attend a sciene exhibition hosted by MTN. Ever since it has been a magnet that keeps drawing me back for more.

at the entrance to the centre you are warmly greeted by pots of flowers and aloes which sets the tone for the beauty awaiting inside.

Some of the exhibitions allow you to touch the subject matter and interact and be part of the displays - and science in motiion. Its a haven for the science fundi and an encycopedia that qunches a childs craving for more knowledge.

the coffee shop attached to the centre serves a decent sandwich, pastries and muffins which is also a good way to unwind before heading back into the bustle of the jozi streets.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South AFrica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun Place for Adults and Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Sci-Bono is a great place to visit. It has working models of various machines and scientific "stuff", some of which are 'hands on'. The displays are clear and simple and well spaced and really give a very good idea of how things work. Any kids with even a basic curiosity about science and experimentation would find this interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sci-Bono Discovery Centre also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sci-Bono Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sci-Bono Discovery Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.