We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beefcakes Johannesburg

Beefcakes Johannesburg
198 Oxford Road | Illovo, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
114475266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #224 of 754 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beef and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I've always been a fan of beefcakes since its days in Cape Town. I'd make sure I turn in there for a drink or meal each time i was in the mother city.
Their new addition in jhb has delivered the same quality food and atmosphere. Great management staff as well.


With their new addition of #HungSunday, a fun day in the sun on Sunday afternoon with an eclectic mix of people and sounds that both young and old can get down to without breaking a sweat; beefcakes sure going to be the go-to venue in jozi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beefcakes offers hot boys with hot buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beefcakes opened up in Cape Town and offers THE best in burgers, atmosphere and hot boys. Having recently (like a year ago mind you) opened up in Johannesburg, it is having the same success.

The burgers are to die for, the cocktails (and their names) are to lick your lips over and the entertainment (which includes the boys) will leave your heart racing.

Go ahead and grab a bite to eat

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome girls' night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a fun place to enjoy gourmet, mouth watering burgers. I had the lamb burger, my friends had beef burgers, all with different accompaniments and condiments, they did not mess up our order at all and the food was delicious! The performance was hilariously entertaining. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated and underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There was a lot of hype about going to beefcakes, so I had to join in.
But, much to my dismay, it really was a letdown.
I ordered a veg burger(maybe don't be a hero and just stick to classic meat), and it tasted like I was licking a salt pan. After complaining, one of the managers tried the burger in front of me and said "I don't think there's anything wrong..I actually think its bland".
The drag show was average, but it seems like a lot of the jokes were taken out of a kids joke bok.
However, the waiters were rather good looking, especially with their shirts off :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“JHB needed this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

LOVE THIS PLACE!! The vibe the energy, just about everything in this place screams fun.
Cannot wait to go back, I did not eat this time but the food did look amazing! The bar is stunning and I loved the hot waiters :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beefcakes Johannesburg also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Beefcakes Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beefcakes Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.