We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food! Wish there was more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine

Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine
3 Lower Road | Sandton, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
011-784-2283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 726 restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Dim Sum
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Wish there was more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The waitress was totally useless, and for the,prices and,location one would expect way more! The food was incredible, but totally didnt match up with the menu that explained the portion sizes. We left with empty pockets and stomachs.
So sad

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    12
    8
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dimsum!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a nice afternoon with friends in a relaxing space and enjoyed delicious food .....looking forward to coming back soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Are there 2 Gwefey's in Johannesburg because the one we went to at The World Trade Centre is terrible. Staff are clueless and service dreadful. The mark up on their wines is ridiculous and they want to charge R120 corkage. Have not made one good comment to friends regarding this restaurant and will definitely not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food poisoning, unhelpful service and too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My business partner and I recently visited this restaurant when we were here on business from New York and really wished that we hadn't. We have been to SA many times and we will never go back to this place. Just because it is in a fancy building doesn't mean that it can deliver bad service, rudeness and overall a poor experience. We don't mind paying for a great meal but this was an arrogant and horrid experience having dined at some of the best restaurants in South Africa and the world. Rude expensive, rude staff, slow service, cold food, cold restaurant, no atmosphere, we even saw a chef smoking just outside the kitchen, like literally 3 meters from the food prep area.

And then to top it off nicely, within 6 hours of leaving the restaurant we were both down with food poisoning, like really bad, like you'd expect from eating off the street in a run down part of India not from what was supposed to be fine Chinese dining.

South Africa has many great restaurants - this is not one of them!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Came here looking for authentic chinese food and was not disappointed! Excellently cooked dishes with a wide variety of choices. Love the decorations and paintings. Will dine here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.