We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gandhi House - redesigned by the late Rocco Boseman, my dear friend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satyagraha House

Satyagraha House
15 Pine Road, Orchards, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gandhi House - redesigned by the late Rocco Boseman, my dear friend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

'The Gandhi House' as the locals refer to it as, is one of the most serene places to visit in Johannesburg. My friend, the late, Rocco Boseman, was hired to turn the simple dwelling into a boutique hotel and venue, while preserving the integrity that Gandhi had so beautifully cultivated while living there. It is a unique combination of history, accommodation and reflection on a man and his spiritual journey. From the understated light fixtures to the calm gardens and visual reminders of Gandhi's time spent there- are all working in absolute harmony, thanks to Rocco's vision and absolute sense of visual integrity. Rocco's memorial service was held there, as he passed away shortly before he could enjoy the opening of this lovely place he helped to re-create, and the vegetarian food and staff were just as lovely as the surroundings. I hope to stay there one day and soak up all the light and love that it contains.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

It was really amazing seeing everything and how he lived as well as all the information about his travels and his life here in SA. Lots to read as well as interesting

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a piece of paradise where you can sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

It is too bad that Jo'Bo does not command to stay a whole week, because the pleasure to stay in this boutique hotel is great.
I am sensitive to good vibes and positive atmosphere. This special place where MK Gandhi stayed (there is a museum inside) is full of positive energy and good vibration.
Great luxurious proposition; exceptional veggie cuisine (no alcohol either) very kind employees and top manager, this place is not like any hotel I have ever stayed in, it a luxurious meditation and special energy place . Walk bear foot on the grass ans in the museum and you will instantly know what I mean.
The room in the old building wth a fire place are the best.
Just give me another reason to go back to Jo'bo, and I will know for sure I ll be back in this special place

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great and very well-designed and lovely minimalist boutique hotel, also serve meals if booked in advance. Really interesting to see more of Gandhi's life, this is where he lived in Johannesburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, inspirational and tranquil place in Joburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have visited twice - once during the day for a tour and a second time for dinner. The tour is very interesting with lots of detail about Ghandi's time there and the satyagraha philospohy. the house and the garden are beautifully done. the dinner was excellent - all vegetarian and every course was delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satyagraha House also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Satyagraha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satyagraha House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.