We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and top class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Cnr Wedgewood Link & William Nicol Drive | 26`03`1005``S 28`01`1333``E, Johannesburg 2194, South Africa
011 706 0991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is at the new Nicolway Mall at Bryanston. http://www.nicolwaybryanston.co.za/location.htm
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relaxed and top class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Was there for breakfast. The gourmet menu is very interesting all day. I ordered a maize fritter stacked with scrambled eggs, chorizo and salsa. Very good presentation and very tasty. Service attentive. I will be back, want to try those luanch menu items.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    56
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Absolutely wonderful. Service is fast and the staff are friendly and well informed. Excellent chefs tasting menus available weekly and paired with wine. Amazing desserts but I had the tasting menu optiin so had a little taste of 3 desserts. Liquorish ice-cream.... no words...

I go as often as I can... :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had heard about Licorish from a few people and decided to try it for myself. It lived up to its reputation and more! The staff were very obviously well trained and attentive. The specials of the tasting platters are an excellent idea, and gives you the opportunity to try a few different flavours when you are spoilt for choice as I was. I asked for the wine list, and was told there isn't one, and that I could choose from the wines they had on display. I was a bit put off by this to begin with, but ended up thinking it was just as well there was no wine list. They have many very unusual wines available, most of which I had never heard of before, and I run regular wine tastings. Well done, and please keep the standard high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A master chef restaurant experience!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This was really surprising. I was impressed by the service and the food. It is a nice restaurant, more stylish than I'm used to. The specials were a fish and a fillet tasting platter, that came with wine to compliment it. It was a fun interesting dinner. Just having an option like this educated us on how to match a wine with a specific meal. It's seems like small portions, because its like you see on tv. Elegantly displayed. But it fills you up. I enjoyed my meal and recommend you at least try it just to experience fine dining!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still loving Licorish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Attentive staff, great, interesting food,and lot's of love flowing from the chef's hands. I wish this restaurant was not in a shopping centre but understand the value of pass-by traffic. They always make you feel welcome and will still quickly replace a fork if it has fallen to the floor. Not many restaurants take notice of those things any more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licorish Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.