We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Cnr Wedgewood Link & William Nicol Drive | 26`03`1005``S 28`01`1333``E, Johannesburg 2194, South Africa
011 706 0991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 736 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is at the new Nicolway Mall at Bryanston. http://www.nicolwaybryanston.co.za/location.htm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great new find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience really enjoyed the trio of fillet fantastic flavours, licorish ice cream was fantastic!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    80
    45
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unusual combinations, great taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

You cannot describe the food as fusion, but as perfectly prepared dishes with a twist - a twist that works and which adds a new and unexpected taste dimension. This is the most innovative food in Johannesburg. The service is excellent, the owner most attentive, and the wine selection well thought out. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Joburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A very unexpected experience! We were looking for a last minute sunday night restaurant, entered another mall and settled for Licorish restaurant, as it was one of the only one open!
The experience was great from A to Z, great service, beautiful menu! So nice to see new stuffs on a menu, changing from chicken livers, stuffed mushrooms....
Everything was so delicious! Very well priced for the food they served!
The strawberries crumble and licorish Ice Cream is a must!!!! Exceptionnal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting and extraordinary food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Licorish Bistro is one of my new favourite restaurants in Jozi.

The food is so unusual, but really delicious. From interesting breakfasts that make plain egg and bacon options seem dull (like their eggs in sweet susheba with chorizo) to their street food menu (try the bunny chow. It's scrumptious*), every menu item is well thought out. While some of the combinations sound strange, they work. My favourites so far are the seared tuna steak with wasabi potatoes, the Ostrich fillet with baba ganoush** and beetroot chutney and, for dessert, the completely amazing fennel and honey cheesecake with smoked chocolate and Pernod jelly.

I chose to have my birthday dinner at Licorish because my husband and I both enjoy the food there so much, but I must admit it's not somewhere I could take my fussy family to eat as the food would be "too complicated" for my dad and brother, who are very much "meat, rice and potatoes" men.

For those who like something out of the ordinary, however, Licorish is fabulous. The service is also brilliant and while the Nicolway restaurant strip can get very noisy on weekends, the ambiance is pleasant too.

*For non-South Africans, bunny chow is bread stuffed with curry. It has nothing to do with real bunnies, I promise.
** A type of eggplant dip

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Licorish. I found the experience to be very rewarding. While the restaurant had not obtained its liquor license yet, we were able to talk a bottle of our own wine. An absolutely fabulous gentlemen I pressume to be the owner was dutiful in his rounds and was instrumental in our decisions for which meals to have. His suggestions were perfect and the meal he suggested will not be easily forgotten. Sadly, our table was cleared prematurely while we had a cigarette outside. We had not yet finished our bottle of wine and were rather disappointed. The owner was quick to rectify the situation by generously offering us a bottle of our choice. This made a great impact on us and is a reason we shall go back there, for this level of hospitality is refreshing and appreciated. I must recommend the Prawn and Crab Pilaf for mains, with the Strawberry Crumble and Liquorish Ice Cream was fantastic for dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licorish Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.