We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life Grand Cafe

Life Grand Cafe
William Nicol & Jan Smuts Drive | Middle Mall Hyde Park Corner, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 011 325 4350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 816 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop, Fusion, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice setting, service was excellent and we felt that we were well treated. Although it is somewhat overpriced. Special attention was given to cutlery, glasses of water etc.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Definitely recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was my second time at this restaurant, this time for a more special occasion and I was even more impressed! The service is very good and the menu will satisfy any one's taste! The atmosphere contributes greatly to the overall rating of this restaurant and we will come back again!
Recommended for any occasion!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It's a good Life :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We initially stopped at Life for a quick snack before a movie but as we explored the menu during subsequent visits we discovered many treats that have become favourites. The crispy salmon sushi is a winner. Would recommend it for sushi lovers. The artisan dips are generally fresh and can be paired with a variety of tasty tapas. Their red velvet cake is absolutely delicious and arguably the best in that region.

We have also experienced good service from waiters and lots of attention to detail and care from the managers. Bongani was very helpful and kind yesterday. He ensured we received good service. The star of the show is the manager, Bonny... She manages to keep the place running like a well oiled machine. It's a beautiful ambience, night or day and one of our favourite spots.
It's been a long time since I've reviewed a restaurant with a five star rating but Life has proved itself over time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Was recommended, but not our recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place was over sold to us by our friends, that is why we had to try it. It was not that bad, but it really is not that exciting. A bit overpriced though. At least they accommodated us with something that was not on the menu, surf ‘n turf.
Not recommended on my “to do again” list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great choice in this centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was third restaurant we visited in this Centre, and with the others the Centre is spoilt for choice.

The place was very active and busy, and we expected it to reflect in the service, particularly as it is new, and you expect slower service with new staff. But I was wrong. The service was superb. Staff were all very helpful, friendly, and genuinely interested in you, whether all was in order, and if you had all you needed. Cannot fault in any way.

Great ambience inside. Comfortable seating, but would suggest unless you are very tall you avoid the 'couch seats'. They are very low relevant to the tables, and it can be difficult to eat.

Cannot fault the food. Had breakfast, their so-called Lazy Breakfast. Looking at the price on the menu, I thought it was slightly costly. But, when it arrived I recognised it was worth every cent. It was well presented, perfectly cooked, and plentiful quantity. It was really great value for money. Breakfast can be a bit oily, but this certainly was not. I really thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful, and finished with a sense of regret.

Coffee was also great. Cannot fault anything on my meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Grand Cafe also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Life Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.