We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke's Burgers

Duke's Burgers
14 Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 767 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Being vegetarian I was a little reluctant to try out a “burger joint”, but when I went through the menu, I found a 5 or 6 of veg options and each very unique.
The food tasted as good as it looked and the milkshake was the best I’ve had in ages.
I can’t really comment on the atmosphere as it was lunch on a weekday and they had some renovations going on.
Décor is “very pop-artsy” and the service was good.
If you’ve gotten this far down the review, GO get a burger already!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hearty Gourmet Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a great restaurant for when one does not want something between a posh restaurant and a fast food joint. The atmosphere is sufficiently relaxed but still, with the quirky decor, sufficiently smart for a business lunch or dinner. The friend who introduced me to Duke's says its a good treat for his kids too. The portions are generous and the service we received fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, great ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The food - i.e. the burgers are great! Superb menu with awesome choices. Even the wine selection and Milkshake choices are great.
I had the Ostrich redneck burger with salad - best presentation of a burger i've had in a while. Then i also had the Marylin Monroe alcoholic shake - very tasty!

Overall, this was a good experience and i will definitely be going back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Generally good, but service is inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've been to Duke's Burgers frequently, and for a long time, considered myself a fan. I have however noticed that over the past year or so, the service has been increasingly inconsistent. Apathetic wait staff, a disinterested front of house and a general sense of indifference have soured my last few trips there. The food is consistently good, with great variety and depth of flavour, but management needs to take some strong corrective action to address the decline in service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Jozzie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Travel across town to get what I consider the best burgers in Jozzie. Great choice and very well presented. Generous portions and great value for money.
Will keep on going back for more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Burgers also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Duke's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke's Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.