We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A night to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a pity we were only there for 1 night. An absolutely unforgetable nights' stay at 54 on Bath! Thank you to the friendly staff who all remembered our names the next morning at check-out for a truly memorable evening. You knew it was our anniversary and was the best one yet. Felt really special and really spoilt!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    38
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
95
9
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been staying in 54 on Bath which was the hotel chosen by the organisers of a conference I am attending. I am so pleased. I had an early check in (5am) after long international flight, so had booked in the night before...and everything was ready and waiting. The bed is comfortable...it is high and I am short, but I really like it. Room has great amenities, superb pillows. The ambiance is quite traditional and one of timeless luxury. There is plenty of space in the room, everything is clean and in good order. I have a view out across the garden and pool so definitely no complaints.
One outstanding aspect of this hotel is the service. At all stages, staff have been tremendously helpful. I had initial problems with Internet...they immediately gave me a voucher number to connect in a different way. I had an early start one morning -- they opened up the cafe early for breakfast. I came in very tired and wanted something not on the room menu one night...they ordered it from the restaurant and brought it up to my room.

The turn down service at night is also great...and it is lovely that there is an internal corridor connecting the hotel to Rosebank Mall.

In short, I would highly recommend this hotel to other visitors.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Suellen T


Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay . We pride ourselves on exceptional service and we appreciate your acknowledgments of this.Whilst Perth is a long way from JHb, we trust that we will be your home away from home the next time you visit Johannesburg.

Warm Regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a really good hotel and a nice change from the Hyatt Regency where I normally stay but which has recently priced itself out of the market with ridiculously high charges. On that front, 54 on Bath is tremendously good value for money. The staff are extremely attentive and friendly and go out of their way to make the guests feel very welcome. My room was very large and comfortable and was nicely decorated in a way that felt individual as opposed to the major chains which all feel very "samey". The location is excellent and a particular feature is the direct access to the adjoining shopping mall. For gym enthusiasts, vouchers are provided for the very well equipped (but quite busy) Planet Fitness which is a 5-minute walk away in the mall.
The only downside of my trip was when I ordered room service and was disappointed with the quality of my burger and chips, as well as the fact that the drink I ordered arrived separately a few minutes later. There was also no salt and pepper provided and overall I got the impression that room service was not an area that got much attention, perhaps through a general lack of demand.
Still, that was a relatively minor point and in every other respect 54 on Bath was exceptionally good and not only will I stay there again, but I heartily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Richard C

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at 54 on Bath. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took time to appreciate and comment on the details in the room and the service. Your comments on the room service delivery and quality are valued and has been shared with the team. We continously strive to improve and refine our service delivery.
We certainly hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Warm Regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel took me by surprise. I generally opt for hotels in the heart of Sandton as this makes my driving from the airport and around Johannesburg easier - so this hotel is in Rosebank which is about 10 to 15 minutes from Sandton.

It is styled closer to a boutique hotel rather than a high volume establishment. The rooms were exceptionally well appointed; very spacious; you get a proper bath and free standing shower; attention to detail goes to the level of toiletries which are in heavy glass bottles rather than cheap reusable plastic; turn-down service; the bed was closer to King size with proper down pillows. The refreshments stand offered a variety of teas and a high quality coffee machine.

had dinner at one of the restaurants - food was great (alas, their single malt whisky is expensive). Tried in-room dining for breakfast and was swamped with a heavily-laden tray with so much variety.

If you want to indulge yourself or looking for a romantic getaway then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong anywhere in this hotel. Quaint, great service and in the lap of luxury. make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lubabalo M

Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review on your recent stay at our hotel!
We are truly delighted with your comments and this has been shared with the team.
We take care with our amenities as you have noticed and pride ourselves on offering a unqiue selection. Our Level Four restuarant is also highly rated and the Chef and team appreciate your feedback .
We certainly hope to welcome you again the next time you are in JHB!

Warm regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

54 on Bath was such a great place to end our honeymoon trip! We were just coming from a week in Mozambique followed by a week on Safari, which can be quite dusty, so 54 on Bath was a welcomed change!! We were greeted in our room upon check in to a sweets display & a celebratory bottle of Champagne which we thoroughly enjoyed! We were exhausted from all of our recent travels so the hotel made it very easy for us to dine in the restaurant and the meal was great! The room itself is decorated perfectly with plenty of room and a comfortable bed! The views were great too! Highly Recommended Here!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Benjamin D


Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are glad that we created a special memory for your honeymoon celebrations. The team prides itself on exceptional service delivery especially when it comes to special occasions. We certainly hope that at some stage you will celebrate an anniversary with us!

Warm regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very good experience at the 54 on Bath hotel. The rooms are very comfortable
and the staff polite and willing to accommodate. The small Champagne bar on the 4th
floor is very cozy and the bartender most accommodating. At the moment , the US Dollar is very strong and the food and wine prices very reasonable. They serve complementary cappuccino in the morning, and tea & wine in the afternoon. We also like the fact that it is connected to a very large shopping mall . We did have to wait to check in but they gave us a lake check out the next day.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Thomas H

Thank you for your delightful review ! The team and I appreciate your feedback. The direct connection to the newly refurbished Rosebank Mall is very convenient for our guests and we agree with the current exchange rates it makes for great shopping!
We hope you have travelled safe and would love to welcome you back the next time you are in JHB.

Warm regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check-in time in this hotel is 14h. We arrived at 19h in the evening and were told our rooms were not ready yet. We were awake from 5h in the morning and travelled more than 500km, so you can imagine we were really looking forward to a nice shower. But instead we had to go straight to dinner. After dinner, 3h later, our rooms were still not ready. We did get our room numbers so we could already bring our luggage to the room. Doing this, we discovered that our room was already occupied. Reception staff acted totally apathetic. It was 22h30 when we finally got access to our rooms. Porters and cleaning ladies were friendly. Room is beautiful.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stuffelke

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay . We agree that your experience was not acceptable and definetly not what we expect any of our guests to experience. We have been in contact with the tour agent and director as well .

Warm Regards
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.