We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel close to gautrain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel close to gautrain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a few days for and was bowled over by the opulence. Check in process left a bit to be desired as I arrived late in the afternoon so was surprised that my room wasn't ready. I had to sit in reception waiting for about 20mins which was not what I wanted after a long day of travelling and meetings. When I finally got to the room I was pleased - the rooms were decorated to a really high standard and there were lots of nice little touches and quality linens. Lots of coffee/tea choices with complimentary chocolates, nuts and jelly beans and a turn down service. The hotel is connected to the mall which is handy and generally quite well located. Bit on the pricey side but you're paying for the quality

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    34
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
88
8
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As a luxury travel writer for World-Adventurer.com, I've stayed in many boutique hotels around the world. 54 on Bath defines luxury in design, service, and style.

Here is what I loved.

The owners/managers definitely focused on an elegant design to wow their guests. Rooms, bathrooms, and facilities are top notch. Attention to detail was very evident with small touches like matching the color of jelly beans and the room accents.

The hotel is really centrally located and even connected to Rosebank Mall, so you can walk over without even leaving the building. Security is available at all exits.

The garden terrace on the 4th floor has outdoor seating, a pool, and some excellent views. Dine and drink outside above the city.

Great service from the knowledgeable receptionists to the friendly chauffeurs.

Lots of little extras included with the room rate like laundry items, complementary rides within a certain area, etc.

Overall, this property has the luxury of a large 5 star hotel but the personal feel of a small boutique! You won't be disappointed with a stay here. For more pictures and a detailed review, see my post at world-adventurer.com.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family for 2 nights, once when we arrived into South Africa, then a week later after going on Safari on transit to Cape Town. We had 3 rooms between us. From the moment you arrive at this hotel and greeted by the door staff, you really feel the warmth from the staff. The rooms were spacious and modern but had a certain elegance about them. The beds were very comfy and everyone commented on the great night sleep they had, the best beds from the whole 2 week break. We did have one issue with some clothes we had laundered and pressed, took a couple of phone calls to track where it had got to, but it was sorted within reasonable amount of time. We did notice that a lantern was in the room the 2nd time we stayed, obviously as the load shedding was getting worse, however we were not effected by a blackout. Very nice hotel, and a safe and secure place in the city of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I arrived at the hotel, I was impressed with the layout, furnishings and aesthetics. I was concerned though that a hotel that is running on full occupancy and is a boutique luxury hotel none the least does not have generators continuously running to have lights and power in the rooms.

The housekeeping staff did not complete my romantic turn down and that too on all days, Valentines Day.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is probably a very nice hotel, but the lack of electricity made for a trying stay. I was only there for 2 nights and a day , my room was in the rear overlooking the noisy compressors in the Rosebank Mall when I was forced to open the windows for light and air.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for three nights for work. The rooms are elegant, check in was smooth, cold towels, welcome drink and cozy sofa. A perfect welcome. Rooms have high quality fittings and excellent views.
My partner left an expensive newly bought dress in a packet by mistake and threw in dustbin.
Immediately after our check out they sent an email that this dress is found and kept it safely. I can't thank and appreciate the staff for this.
The hotel is literally connected by a small corridor to rosebank mall so you are next to shopping areas.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear AlankarMal

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Your comments have been shared with the team . We pride ourselves on excellent service and honesty .
I am glad to see that we were able to return the new dress and that your partner was happy!
We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service at 54 was outstanding. They took care of everything that I needed. The loadshedding issues in South Africa are difficult, but they provided lanterns and were very accomodating in dealing with this uncontrollable issue. I would definitely come back. I felt the price was excessive, but the service outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gregory S

Thank you for your delightful review ! We appreciate you taking the time to acknoweldge our efforts despite the load shedding challenges. This has been shared with the team.
We certainly hope to welcome you again .

Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.