We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became a home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Life in Style
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Became a home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My hubby was staying here for work and i joined him thinking it would be the usually corporate hotel, with no personality!
How wrong could I be. The staff were so welcoming and helpful.
It is situated next to the Rosebank shopping mall and lots of great eateries.
The decor is so classy and comfortable. Well appointed with all the creature comforts, big cumfy chairs so sink into and read!
We enjoyed the room service after a day of sightseeing! The food was great and was very quickly delivered, I loved the orchid on the tray.
We used their transport staff to get us around and they were excellent. Making sure we were comfortable and supplying water for us.
My only challenge was the smallness of the shower, making washing my hair difficult.
We returned 3 times during our trip, and will return often!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
76
6
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We could find no fault with the hotel. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable - and functional. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were friendly and helpful, and everything was done with a smile. The food was excellent. The whole stay was just an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: It was our first stay at 54 on Bath, so can't comment on this. Our room (514) was a delight in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose 54 on Bath for a weekend trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel staff and management were absolutely awesome and ensured that all our needs were met. The room was stunning and the food at the Level 4 restaurant was absolutely top notch. This is what exceeding client expectations are all about. A huge THANK YOU to the team at 54 on Bath for making our anniversary a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent little boutique in all respects, though the thing that makes it stand out most of all is the friendly, gracious staff who are always happy and helpful (and who even patiently attempted to teach us a few words in Zulu). The Rosebank mall and the Zone are a short walk away if you fancy some nearby retail therapy. While there are great places nearby to eat, the hotel restaurant is excellent, so it is hard to want to go some place else. The chef even came out some nights and made some creative special off-menu items for us as we had dined there a number of nights running. Meanwhile up in the rooms, they will come up and press 3 items for free for you and at turn down each night, there was a little treat waiting -for example a macaroon and some fresh pressed apple juice. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Corner suites have windows on two sides - they are lighter, airier and feel bigger. I would also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for Rosebank central and connection to surrounding Sandton area. Excellent value, bar prices perhaps a little steep for SA patrons.
Very comfortable and clean with polite and engaging staff. The finest breakfast I have ever had . . . all in all a very pleasant 4-day experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a short visit durning our honeymoon, but we were delighted with the hotel! Te room was very nice!! The service was spectacular! As we arrived to our room we had a lot of surprises, like snacks, roses, champagne, candles, etc... Making it for a very special night! Breakfast was also spectacular!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Johannesburg. The rooms are generous and beautifully decorated. The beds are extremely comfortable and luxurious. The level of service is unmatched in Johannesburg. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The extra attention to detail makes for much enjoyment and leaves a seasoned traveller feeling endulged. The breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.