We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally fine hotel to stay in all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Life in Style
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Exceptionally fine hotel to stay in all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great location for Rosebank central and connection to surrounding Sandton area. Excellent value, bar prices perhaps a little steep for SA patrons.
Very comfortable and clean with polite and engaging staff. The finest breakfast I have ever had . . . all in all a very pleasant 4-day experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    29
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
74
6
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were on a short visit durning our honeymoon, but we were delighted with the hotel! Te room was very nice!! The service was spectacular! As we arrived to our room we had a lot of surprises, like snacks, roses, champagne, candles, etc... Making it for a very special night! Breakfast was also spectacular!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Johannesburg. The rooms are generous and beautifully decorated. The beds are extremely comfortable and luxurious. The level of service is unmatched in Johannesburg. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The extra attention to detail makes for much enjoyment and leaves a seasoned traveller feeling endulged. The breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are presently still in situ, attending a water polo tournament in Jhb. We booked in here by chance and have had the most incredibly satisfying stay. The attention to detail, the quality of the service, the food, the touches of nuts, macaroons and jelly babies, the pillow menu (chose your preference of pillow) the gym bag for our gym visits ....the list goes on and on. We will definitely back and are loathe to leave!!

Room Tip: Any overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From check-in to check-out the staff were attentive to every little detail. Everything I requested from the front desk was brought to the room within minutes. The room was gorgeous and well-appointed. The coffee maker was the coolest one I'd ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear biztraveler35
Thanks for taking the time to post your review of 54 on Bath and thanks for your vote of confidence in our service. we are delighted that you love our coffee makers, and hope to welcome you back soon for some more delicious coffee.

kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at 54 on Bath for 7 nights, combining business and personal agendas. Service was outstanding and location by the Rosebank Mall extremely convenient. The different hotels in thisTsogo hotel group also worked together well, organising storage for my luggage at a sister hotel at Monte Casino so that I could go to the theatre there on my way to the airport, without having to worry about my luggage! I strongly recommend this hotel as an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sue_SABM

Thank you so much for the very kind review of your stay at 54 on Bath. It is so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We really do enjoy our jobs and I am very happy to see that this manifested itself in your experience with us. I hope that we will welcome you home very soon

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of an Africa vacation. It's about 30 minutes from the Johannesburg airport. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable, with a good bed and bathroom. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. The hotel dining room food was excellent. And the hotel is located only a long hallway away from a very nice shopping center, which itself has several restaurants. We would recommend 54 on Bath (odd name) very highly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lonnie C,

We are absolutely delighted to see how impressed you were with the standard of service at 54 on Bath. Thank you so much for your very kind review. The team receive tremendous encouragement from wonderful feedback like yours. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back home

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.