We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Life in Style
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent old style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very nice clean and well appointed room with lots of nice touches and attention to detail.
The only disappointment was the absence of a hotel generator considering the frequency of power outages across South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    28
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
70
5
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for a night before we travelled to Botswana and again when we returned.The hotel also stored our luggage for us whilst we were away.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and has many interesting and quirky touches.There is a champagne bar and an outside seating and dining area.There is also a pool and a croquet lawn.
There is a restaurant and we had dinner there during our first stay and we had room service on the second,neither made a great impression and there is not a lot of choice for vegetarians.
The bedrooms are lovely with lots of extra touches like chocolates with the coffee which is Illy and the little glass stacked pots with jelly beans,nuts and other sweeties.There are also plenty of magazines which is a nice touch.
The bed is very comfy and the bathroom has a bath with a candle and bath salts also soap,shower gel and body lotion etc and nice towels but the shower is minuscule and if you were a little plump you would have problems.I dropped my shower scrub and had problems trying to retrieve it.
Breakfast has a hot menu to choose from and other items such as a fruit plate and pastries are served to your table.
Overall apart from the shower and lack of vegetarian food and the disappointing dinner it is a great hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Julie M

Thank you for sharing your experience at 54 on Bath . We indeed pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. When we do consider a refurbishment, the shower size will undoubtedly be a priority . We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards
Deborah Pillay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived around 9 am from a flight from London to find our room was not quite ready but we had been upgraded to a suite. Within 10 minutes we were escorted to a beautifully decorated room to freshen up before a tour of Pretoria.
Service and advice from staff was excellent. The hotel has an access route straight into the Mall but on our return from our trip we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant as it had been a long day but also we had been advised not to wander about at night (see Level 4 for my report). This proved to be a great choice with excellent food. Breakfast the next morning was very good although we were served from the buffet rather than helping ourselfs. Hot drinks and cooked items were served in any case and my smoked salmon with salmon eggs and scambled egg was as good as I have eaten anywhere. The salmon eggs burst with flavour. This hotel got our tour of South Africa off to a great start

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ken P

Thank you for sharing your experience at 54 on Bath on tripadvisor. We are indeed delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your comments with our team.
We certainly hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Olive, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for two nights when we were traveling from SA to Namaibia. I cannot tell you how disappointed we were that we only had two night there. The service/staff was great, the food was wonderful, and the location was teriffic. When we come back to Joburg we WILL stay here again. Please try this hotel, we don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Amy Jerry

What a delightful review on trip advisor! It made our teams day . We certainly pride ourselves on attention to detail and attentive five star boutique service .
We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future

Warm Regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Super cool boutique hotel in excellent location and overall very nice staff. Very nicely decorated, clean and looks fabulous. The only bad experience was the checkout when they wanted to charge us for the breakfast that was already included plus she was rude about it.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear GlobeALLtrotter

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We welcome feedback from our guests and have addressed the issue you raised with the breakfast charge and the manner in which it was dealt with. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and apologise that you did not experience this throughout your stay .
We certainly hope this will not deter you from visiting us again soon !

Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights and had an excellent time. Enterior throughout the hotel is beautiful and staff were helpful and with a smile on their faces. The restaurant was unfortunately very busy with different parties, so noice level was very high and first service, was served after 45 min. but again, the look of the restaurant was intimate and romantic.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BenteM_11

Thank you for your review of our hotel . Our team ethos is to deliver exceptional five star service to all our guests. We apologise for your experience at dinner and your comments have been shared with the team.
We certainly hope that we are your first choice when you visit our beautiful city again.
Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love love love the rooms...attention to detail, trendy but homely and yet executive!!! The guest toilet, lounge that can be shut off from the bedroom gives privacy! The staff is warm and always on call to assist....really loved the little things that hotels don't have these days ....gown, sewing kit, shoe buffer...oh the chocolate, dried fruit....gorgeous really!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debpi, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sithembiledd

Thank you for you your passionate review ! We love your comments and have shared it with the entire team.
We have no doubt that we will welcome you back again soon !

Warm regards
Deborah Pillay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.