We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed by the service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Life in Style
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed by the service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our company has run several training sessions at the conference facilities of this hotel. Mandla should be commended on his quiet, attentive and efficient service. But we had one incident which in my mind is completely unacceptable from a so called 5-star establishment and that completely negates everything good that was done.

When I left the hotel on the last day I forgot my Apple recharging cable in the conference room. I called on the Saturday and was told that no one was there from banqueting and conferencing but it would surely be safe and that they would get back to me. No one did. This cable is not cheap as I am assure everyone is aware. Also since it is a phone recharging cable it is something that one needs, and therefore there is some urgency to find it.

I phoned and my admin assistant phoned - countless times. We were told that it was hotel policy not to send things to people. When we insisted we were then told that we would need to pay for the postage. I was flabbergasted. I have worked in the hospitality business and I the companies I have worked for would immediately send the lost item - without being asked, and certainly without asking payment. Because that is what 5-star service is!

Initially I was told that the GM would not allow the lost item to be sent, and finally after much insistence, I was told that it would be sent, and at no charge. I have never received my cable. I understand it was sent, but it was sent via regular postage with no insurance and no tracking. And with our postabl system it is not surprsing that it must have gone astray.

There is just so much wrong with this incident. Firstly it is a small thing which, if handled properly, would have done so much positive good. Instead, the experience has completely negated and soured what might otherwise been a good one. Secondly, if the hotel cared, then they would have taken more care to post the item in a way that would ensure it gets to me. We all know the postal system is unreliable.

5 star service would have been - the cable is found in the conference room, someone makes it their job to find out who left it behind, the GM makes sure that it is sent the next day to the owner. Now that would have been worthy of the 5 stars. And indeed there are some 4 star hotels that would do the same. I know because I work with some of them.

You lost an opportunity to show off your service and all I can say is shame on you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear KarenOParkin,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed that it did not reach above a one star rating due to a lost and found item, it is unfortunate and certainly not like most of our reviews.

We appreciate you naming Mandla as an employee that made a difference during your visit and we shall certainly pass on your commendations.

We would love to reunite all lost property with its owners but we handle between 150-200 lost or missing items on a monthly basis ranging from very expensive jewellery to suitcases. The significant cost to courier and insure lost items from South Africa, most often to the opposite hemispheres where most of our guests reside, makes it a service that is difficult to sustain.

I trust you understand our reasoning and that this not deter you from visiting our hotel in future.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
76
6
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Such an amazing and beautiful hotel! The service is excellent and everything we experienced exceeded all my expectations. The food was outstanding and the rooms were just beautiful

I will definitely return as well as recommend this to anybody i know

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Bianca M,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with fellow travellers around the globe. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at 54 on Bath. We hope that you will be able to return again very soon.

Thanks again
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

From our greeting upon arrival to our departure farewell, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 54 on Bath. The staff are attentive and engaging, and the amenities are top notch and very clean. We enjoyed the cozy bar area and had a fabulous dinner which was both delicious and beautifully presented. If you are traveling to Johannesburg and don't mind a bit of a drive from the airport, the hotel is next to a nice shopping mall. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear NC207

Thanks for your review and recommendation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay whilst visiting 54 on Bath. We do hope it will not be long before you can return.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was my oasis of tranquility and relaxation during a full and busy week of business in Jburg area. I had travelled to South Africa from the other side of the globe and arrived in Jburg in the morning. I had already at noon my first business meeting. Before that, exhausted and worn, I headed to the hotel, although I was supposed to get my room only in the afternoon. They prepared me a room in few minutes so I could take a shower and change clothes. What a relief. And good service!
Car park under the hotel. Great benefit if you need it. The room was nothing but excellent. Top quality bed, very nice interior, quiet, big TV, bathroom had great view through a window that was by the shower. Clean as well. I ate at the restaurant and ordered room service meal as well another night. All very good!
Staff was always smiley and friendly.
There was even a complimentary shoe polish and pressing of three items like shirts per day. Used that service and it was really the cherry on the cake.
There was however one service that did not work - internet connection.
I only got online a couple of times during this 5 days stay and even then the speed was very low. I've experienced elsewhere in South Africa lousy internet connections every time I've been there, thus maybe this is more a question of the whole infrastructure of the country.
Still even this won't drop my score from five star rating.
That satisfied was I.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Jaatinen,

Thank you for sharing your review of 54 on bath on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to us. I am delighted that we could get you into your room earlier than expected, we strive to accommodate such requests although it can never be guaranteed. Sorry you experienced internet issues, when we got your review we had our service providers inspect their equipment and found two of the radios were broken, this is likely to have been part of the issue you experienced. We look forward to your next visit.

A warm regards from the bottom of the world to the top.

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely and intimate hotel, friendly staff, divine macaroons dropped off in your room at afternoon tea time. A walk away from the rosebank mall, so good for shopping as well. Their champagne bar and garden setting is such a surprise in the middle of the bustle of rosebank. level 4 restaurant will satisfy the most severe food critics, very yummy and very cosy, with a fireplace blazing and a good wine collection.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in Rosebank. We are on your doorstep so look forward to many future visits.

Kind regards
Darren

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What was once the Grace Hotel is now a beautiful boutique hotel, in a nice part of town, connected to the upgraded (work won't be finished until fall 2014) Rosebank Mall by a marble passageway. You are greeted by name from the moment you arrive, and check in while sitting in the comfortable lounge while enjoying the seemingly endless parade of free food and drink the hotel provides. Rooms are large and tastefully appointed. Separate bath and shower. Internet is free -- other hotels, take note! -- and reasonably fast, though the log-in system is erratic. The hotel restaurant is excellent. All breakfasts come with a "fruit plate"; ours usually consisted of half a passion fruit; sliced cantaloupe, honeydew and pineapple; yogurt and a fruit compote. There's also a table with cold items: bread, more fruit, breakfast meats. We over-ate daily.

The hotel doesn't have a gym, but it does provide free access to an absolutely massive facility in the attached mall. The front desk will give you a gym bag with towel, water and water bottle, and an iPod Shuffle (!) together with your entry pass.

We used hotel cars and drivers for a number of day trips. They were all amazingly accommodating, and the tour of Soweto and (much rougher) Alexandra was a highlight of our time in Joburg.

A truly first-rate hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear DRudd88,

Thanks so much for posting your review, we appreciate it enormously. We are delighted you enjoyed our service and facilities and do look forward to you returning very soon.

Thanks again.
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed over on a Thursday evening to enjoy the wine pairing dinner with friends.

The shuttle collected me from the Gautrain station and dropped me off at the front door of the hotel. I could check-in early which was great! The receptionist was very friendly and professional.

The room was a standard room but the layout very good. Huge King size bed with a firm mattress. Pillow menu available. The bathroom was nice but we felt the shower was too small. Room and bathroom very clean. The room was on the 5th floor- a bit noisy and no real views.

Had room service lunch- which was delivered in the 25 min as promised and delicious!

Went shopping after lunch- used the new walkway to the Rosebank Mall- floor a bit slippery- marble/granite that is polished. So be careful.

Dinner in Level 4 was exceptionally good! Will definitely try to do another this year.

Room service breakfast was disappointing with some items omitted.

All in all- A great stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors should be more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear oceangipsey,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate the time you take to do so. You certainly seemed to have enjoyed your stay overall however we are equally disappointed that we did not live up to expectation when it came to your room service breakfast.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Dudu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.