We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Save Saved
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at 54 on Bath for Business. What a great experience: high professional service from a fantastic staff in a ambience with beautiful decor and art. Enjoyed the room fully, and especially the bed and linen.
I would recommend to have a pre dinner drink at the Champagne bar at the terrace garden overlooking the city.
The restaurant at the 4th floor was a great culinary experience which i enjoyed fully.
The staff at 54 on Bath really cared and looked well after me. I will be back on my next business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Dionisius123 ,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the comforts of your room and I can second your recommendation of a glass of Champagne before dinner, or indeed at any other time. Here is a little quote by Roman Payne that I hope will create both past and future memories of 54 on Bath.

“Champagne arrived in flûtes on trays, and we emptied them with gladness in our hearts… for when feasts are laid and classical music is played, where champagne is drunk once the sun has sunk and the season of summer is alive in spicy bloom, and beautiful women fill the room, and are generous with laughter and smiles… these things fill men’s hearts with joy and remind one that life’s bounty is not always fleeting but can be captured, and enjoyed..”

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
52
4
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Versoix, GE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

An elegant hotel that lets its people shine. By the end of my 8 night stay there, I was sad to leave and really hope to stay with you all again. The nice touches in the rooms (the window in the shower, the little snack and fresh juice at turndown, the illy coffee machine) the free pressing, the super pillows. Local art hangs on the wall - always nice. All lovely though sometimes it took a day or two for used dishes to disappear. The restaurant speed was less brilliant but a nice venue. I brought my team of 8 for lunch, explaining that we needed to get in & out, & it took 50 minutes to be served. When, on a different day I was dining alone, it took four requests to get wifi password only to be told that it was broken. That said, the food was delicious & staff was extremely friendly.
As for our function, again, the support staff were marvelous, the catering guys flexible - they were happy to engage, answer questions and serve when needed but invisible when appropriate. The food was ALWAYS good.

Room Tip: Pool side is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear EBlitz,

Thanks for your review. It's great to see that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us at 54 on Bath, I do note we have some interactions with our staff and partners to pick up on finer detail and thank you for pointing these out for our attention and action.
We'd be delighted to welcome you back home when you are next in Johannesburg and hope that it is not too long before you return.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just spent 7 days at 54 on Bath in the vibrant and transforming city of Johannesburg. The rooms are modern, cool with the most comfortable beds and crisp sheets. The bathrooms are well appointed with separate showers. There are tots of plugs conveniently located for technology and plenty of space to unpack. The rooms facing the pool are the best with light and views over the city. I especially love the generosity. Tea, lattes and little bites are complimentary in the lobby lounge and every night a sweet treat is presented during turn down service by one of the staff in your room with free bottled water. A big plus for business travelers is the easy and complimentary access to an outstanding gym with an excellent array of musical choices provided by the General manager on loaned MP3s. The staff is lovely and willing to help. For a real can do caring attitude, ask for Dudu and David at the front desk.

The only problem we encountered was the wifi in the rooms but the hotel manager is aware of the deficiency and is working on adding servers to rectify the problem. I really look forward to returning to this hotel and to enjoying the calm serenity and generous spirit in the heart of Africa. I would recommend this hotel to business travelers and families.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are brighter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear desirose8,

Thanks for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. It is great to learn you enjoyed 54 on Bath and thanks for highlighting David and Dudu as two of the team that stood out for you - at the end of the day we are a people business with beds and not a bed business with people and we believe that's where the difference lies; I'll pass on my thanks to them personally.

I look forward to your next visit and trust you will make our small hotel your own home away from home when you are in Johannesburg.

Best wishes
Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

At the end of our wonderful travels in Africa we stayed at 54 on Bath. We were so glad that we did. From the welcome (yes we were actually made to feel welcome) we received on check in to our check out we received nothing but friendly, professional service from a well trained team.. Food was top class and beautifully served. The decor and furnishing are beautiful. We were so sorry that we weren't staying longer in the hotel, and there are not many hotels that you could say that about. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Una M,

Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your travels to Africa and we are delighted to have been part of that experience. I do hope we shall be on your itinerary when you next visit our shores.

Kind regards
Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Points for style and fabulous location directly across from the Rosebank mall. Private parking also nice.

But I can't say I liked the wifi that was off 1/4 of the time and glacially slow except after 11 pm. Or the towel rack that fell halway from the wall and wasnt repaired. Or the room service which didnt answer half the times I rang. Or the cleaning staff who came to my room at 8:30 pm. For the price, fair to expect better execution.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear MarkP_9,

Thanks very much for your honest review and valuable feedback - highly appreciated!

I am extremely sorry to learn your impression of our hotel and to hear that your stay was far from perfect. These specific complaints are not ones we receive often but I acknowledge we managed to miss the boat badly during your stay; as you can see from many of our other Trip Advisor reports this is not an example of our normal guest experience.

Our small hotel is designed for a very personal level of comfort and interaction but clearly were not able to match our personal philosophy with your expectations. Obviously we find this regretful and would love to have the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we can be. Next time you visit Johannesburg will you please let us know?

My sincerest apologies again and I trust to meet up with you personally next time you visit.

Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very nice, extremely comfortable hotel in JHB with probably the friendliest and most efficient staff in the South African hotel industry. Superb service. Well appointed rooms and conveniently located. Not too big and nice personal touches. They really do look after their customers. Can't think of anywhere else to stay in JHB !!

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on so do ask for a room on the opposite side to that activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

54 on Bath is a breath of fresh air. So often one becomes accustomed to standardised hotel procedures across different brands, which includes amenities, services, and offerings. Then when it does happen that you get offered three shirts to be pressed complimentary on check-in, or served an individualised continental breakfast at your table the next morning, it not only alleviates some of the pressure and stress that goes with travelling, but also restores your faith in the hospitality industry that has become so complaint in their approach.

 

Back to 54 on Bath, everything from the décor, to soap dispensers, the beaded dog, trays of treats, big-screen TV (that is chronologically and logically tuned in), friendly and awesome staff, … there is just too much to mention...

 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Martin v

Thank you for your positive review. We do love what we do at 54 on Bath and it is gratifying to hear of our guests experience of the "little things" we offer that make a difference. Primarily we owe the credit to our great team of people that care for our guests and they derive great satisfaction from reviews such as yours, I'll share it with them later today.

I hope it's not too long before you return home to 54 on Bath.

Kind regards
Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.