We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 54 on Bath

Save Saved
You added 54 on Bath to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 on Bath
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Life in Style
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a pleasant and well appointed chic boutique hotel ,with an avant garde interior design and tastefully furnished and very new in the heart of Rosebank. Its a few minutes walk to mall, cinema, restaurants, african arts market and rooftop flea market.. The service and food,especially breakfast was excellent. We had an enjoyable stay. We shall return.

Sam Y

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sam Y

Thanks for your review - much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and that Level Four restaurant hit the right spot. The hotel is extremely conveniently linked to Rosebank Mall where there are host of boutiques, traditional crafts and entertainment. It really is a little microcosm of Johannesburg. Hope to see you again soon.

Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
52
4
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We popped in there one morning because I have seen reviews in magazines on this hotel. It is clean, modern, very convenient access. From the valet to the waiters are exceptionally well trained and friendly. The garden is beautiful and perfect for high tea, We had a delightful breakfast there, and they showed us around the rooms. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Johannesburg. (see my room tips). Excellent for business trips.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are great, but if you want to upgrade, the luxury is fantastic, spacious (even ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear voyagersolo,

Thank you for reviewing 54 on Bath and Level Four restaurant. Yes, indeed the roof garden on the fourth floor is a perfect location for afternoon tea, as it is for alfresco lunches, sundowners or even just to relax. We hope you have the opportunity to experience the elegance and serenity of the hotel soon.

Best wishes
Darren H
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

54 on Bath is a boutique Gem. It's intimate, wonderfully appointed and generally beyond reproach. Why anyone would want to stay at a chain-name hotel is beyond me. 54 is sublime.

The lobby is inviting, the rooms are huge with amazing views of the leafy city, & the Illy coffee machines are a life-saver!

However, my personal experience at this hotel was jinxed I suppose! It's the attention to my personal needs that the didn't quite crack that reduced my overall rating to very good and not the EXCELLENT I think i could have been.

1. The check in was promised to be done in comfort whilst seated on a lobby couch. This was not done.
2. I had pre-arranged via e-mail to have champagne waiting in my room for my 2pm arrival (I was with my wife for our anniversary). This was not done.
3. The electronic key cards for the room did not work.
4. Suffice to say after we gained access to our room we were "interrupted" 3 more times in the 1st hour as new key cards where made and delivered & champagne was delivered. Not a great start to an anniversary moment!
5. After dinner we returned to our room and only 1 turn down service had been provided.
6. The Illy coffee's had not been restocked in our absence.
7. The morning newspaper was not delivered to our room, despite ALL other rooms on our floor having the paper hanging outside theirs.
8. The Breakfast reception was off'ish and snobby? Like they are doing you a favour seating you.
9. The Harvest table spread had no tongs or side plates to serve the pastries.
10. Our breakfast table dod not have napkins, and my setting was in correctly laid with knifes on the right and forks on the left!
12. Before we had concluded our breakfast the waiter placed a bill folder at the table. Despite the room being incl. of bed&breakfast, why is it necessary to make me sign for a bill that I wont be paying for, and why present me with the bill before I have concluded the pleasantries?

I felt cheated cause I never do have the sweet croissant as I was chased away and there were no tongs to dish up with!

Despite my stay being jinxed, I do think this is a magnificent establishment that was probably having a hang-over the night I was there!

'till next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear stevovo

I'm delighted you took my call regarding your experience.

On behalf of the entire team at 54 on Bath, I wish to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience you had at our property. As a brand which prides itself on service, we thank you for highlighting the areas of concern. The feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future; we always welcome any opportunity to improve. We acknowledge the feedback and furthermore confirm that we failed to deliver the warm Hospitality that we are best known for.

The succession of disappointments you were exposed to during your stay are inexcusable service failures which were sternly addressed. It is with absolute regret that you were exposed to such service lapses as our teams are trained to deal with such daily procedures efficiently.

Whilst we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, we are appreciative that you have agreed to afford us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Pontsho Dikobe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at 54 on Bath for a 2 day 2 night strategy session. I was upgraded to a suite which was extremely comfortable. Very well appointed, very well decorated and top class linen and a choice of pillows. Beautiful tasty snacks placed in room on arrival and each night at tuck down.
Used the bar and the conference facilities. Conferencing room was suitable but awkwqardly shaped. Electronic facilities are not great and proximer had to be placed on a table in the middle of the room. The catering was superb. Service was excellent all round.
Some negatives - shower cubicle is very small, towels and toilet rolls were not replaced on second morning, had to call housekeeping. The only electrical point that fitted the hairdryer was in the lounge. Housekeeping did not have adapters. Great location for visiting Rosebank Mall, firs, the zone and restaurants for shopping and entertainment

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear SuperSpeed,

We appreciate the time you have made to review 54 on Bath. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to get out to enjoy the local shopping experiences. I hope you see the improvement in the confernence facilities during your next visit, we had them upgraded within the past few days. Apologise about the housekeeping issues, we'll certainly address this with the team.

Hope we see you again soon.
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay in hotels every week because I commute between CT and Jozi, and I think I've just found a new home for my Rosebank / Braamfontein / Sandton visits!
The hotel is elegant, tasteful, and the staff are attentive whilst being personal and friendly, not intrusive.
And the food is exquisite. I've had a few business dinners at the hotel, because of the excellence of the cuisine, but can now attest to a delicious, very tastefully presented breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Fagmeedah,

Thanks so much for your positive review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your recent stays with us. We feel privileged to become your new home in Johannesburg and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 on Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.