We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Simonne to your Saves list
Villa Simonne
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16 West Street Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Star experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was at the Villa Simonne from 7th - 18th July 2013, i really enjoyed myself as it was a home away from home. The people were very friendly and helpful. It was really a five star experience and i will recommend Villa Simonne to anyone that wants to experience a five star enjoyment at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the penthouse are quieter, that was where i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
30
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've discovered Villa Simonne by accident after accommodation arrangements fell through at the last minute. I've never been so mesmerised by an establishment ever before. As Glen B wrote, this is neither a boutique hotel nor B&B. Every inch of this amazing establishment has a story to tell. Every room is uniquely decorated to specific theme. Fittings, found art, trinkets and objects from years gone by tastefully set the tone to every bedroom and entertainment area.

Regrettably I could only stay over for a day but I had plenty of time to explore. And explore I did. My stay was in the New Orleans suite but I owe it to myself to stay in every one of the rooms that they have to offer on future visits.

Nothing was ever too much trouble for the attentive staff. I gladly recommend Villa Simonne to anyone traveling to Johannesburg. The personalised service (more often than not provided the owners themselves) was augmented by the unique setting that gave one plenty of hiding place if one ever needed a quiet, scenic spot from where to work or unwind. If you're after something different close to the centre of Johannesburg, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is the most unique establishment I've ever had the pleasure of staying at.

It is a masterpiece of a vision achieved by one family (and father in particular) and every space within the hotel from the incredible 1930s (or 1970s!) bar area to the themed guest bedrooms tell a story. The staff are great and friendly and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Having stayed in hotels from New York to Berlin to Tel Aviv to Cochin, I was really surprised to find the best boutique hotel right here in Joburg at Villa Simonne. its cinematic bar, luxuriously comfortable rooms and just plain good service make this place an experience that's hard to forget. The well-located hotel with its luscious garden setting is styled so authentically, you may think you've wandered into an artful dream. By far the most impressive feature is its charismatic host whose attention to detail and genuine hands-on hospitality add a personal touch that brings the whole place to life. And the food is great, with very decent vegetarian options. I'd recommend Villa Simonne to anyone looking for a deeply satisfying and inspiring stay in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is neither a boutique hotel or a bed-and-breakfast, but moreso a combination of the two. With that said it is the most unique place I have ever stayed. The atmoshpere is phenomenal with an eclectic charm with suites ranging from the Marakesh to the Maharaja. Further, the hospitality of the staff was second to none. Villa Simonne is truely a unique experience. I HIGHLY recommend to anyone staying in the Jo'Burg area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'm not sure I have words to describe Villa Simonne. It's truly a one-of-a-kind gem. Well, no, actually, it's 13 of a kind, because that's how many differently themed suites they have. Plus lovely gardens, great staff, the best breakfast, the barmiest bar you'll ever see and coffee whenever you want. And it's an absolute bargain compared to other hotels in Joburg. Even if you have to stay in the centre for business reasons, I thoroughly recommend you treat yourself to a couple of days at Villa Simonne. And if you need a venue for a wedding, or a business dinner, they can cater that too...

Room Tip: They're all unique, but the Marrakesh is hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After a very disappointing stay at another Johannesburg hotel, I am so lucky that I found Villa Simonne. It is truly a unique accommodation in the middle of bustling Johannesburg. The hotel is like no other and filled with character. From the minute you drive in through the gates, you are surprised with the wonderful ambiance and charm. It is such a special place with a very rich background.

Everyone that works at Villa Simonne is extremely attentive and lovely. They will do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable and will help in any way possible.

The rooms are charming and create a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Make sure to stroll around the building and property as there are many unique areas that add up to one great location.

And do not miss trying the food. The recent addition of the restaurant is wonderful - my dinner was divine.

Overall, a great stay and I am so happy to have found Villa Simonne!

Room Tip: They are all different and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Address: 16 West Street Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush gardens in Houghton, just 10 minutes drive from Johannesburg CBD, this highly individual boutique hotel boasts a 1920’s themed piano lounge, a tropical pool and sauna, a tennis court, snooker room, an ampitheatre, outdoor cinema, as well as a Western themed snooker room, affording guests endless options for recreation without having to leave the comfort of the Villa. Villa Simonne's individually themed suites find their inspiration in the history and character of the most enchanting cities in the world. From Paris chic to the majesty of Marrakesh, each suite combines dramatic décor with uncompromising luxury. The rate includes complimentary full English breakfast, free Wi-Fi in all suites and common areas, concierge service, free secure parking, and unlimited access to all entertainment areas for private dinners or meetings. On the Gautrain bus route, and in walking distance to Killarney Shopping centre, the Villa has easy access to the shopping and business centres around the city, as well as OR Tambo International, the homes of Nelson Mandela and William Kentridge, Johannesburg Zoo, Apartheid museum, and various other tourist attractions. Villa Simonne also offers a variety of outstanding conference venues and function areas for all occasions, catering for weddings, high teas, corporate parties/year-end events, team building events, and exclusive private parties. Tours can be arranged by the concierge service, as well as wellness treatments, chauffer service, laundry service and meals throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Simonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.