We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau de Carolle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Carolle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de Carolle to your Saves list
Chateau de Carolle
100 Mowbray Road | Greenside, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Chateau de Carolle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found Chateau de Carolle on the internet, along with a few other guest houses, as I was looking for a place to stay in every month, as I travel on business to Jhb every month. I looked at Chateau de Carolle first and never looked at another. I have now stayed there for about 6 months and have no desire to look for another. It is like a home away from home. Everything is always immaculate, beautifully furnished and decorated. Greenside is a stone's throw away from trendy Parkhurst and other amenities. The property is secure and peaceful with every comfort one could want. The owner makes every guest feel special and I would highly recommend to business or leisure travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us for a week every month. The measure of a guest is the care & consideration they show for our staff & our premises which is undoubtedly part of the pleasure we derive in delivering quality & efficientcy for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simon's Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

'Optimal independence, tranquillity & privacy in spacious secluded accommodation.' We had no seclusion and no privacy.

One minute as a family we are discussing that we had no towels, next minute the towels would just appear?!

'Access to private patio.' We had no private patio, decoration in cottage was very quaint but as guests we felt no privacy. This is definitely not a place for the young or young at heart. It felt like being in an retirement settlement.

If you enjoy relaxing on a patio with a chilled glass of wine, want to have a private chat or a laugh after an evening out, or simply just want to be left alone, this is not the place for you.

Outside our cottage we had an annoying sensor light right at our door that kept turning on each time we stepped out. We felt like rabbits in headlights.

After our stay at Chateau de Carolle we could not wait to get to our own home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
"Rabbits in headlights"
Chateau de Carolle is a respectable Guesthouse.
Not a Watership Down for 3 to a bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have never stayed in Johannesburg and being from Mozambique we were very reluctant to stay in a guesthouse. Arriving at Chateau de Carolle we were surprised by the lovely and cosy cottage. Everything was very clean and comfortable, better than that however was the owner Carol. She immediately made us feel welcome and helped us in every way possible, including indicating best routes and places to go during our stay. We loved staying there and we will definately return on a next trip tp JHB. The attention to details and comfort of guests was beyond expectation.
Carol runs a 3 star guesthouse with a 5 star service.

Monica and Jorge C

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Monica & Jorge C

I appreciated your reviews posted on Tripadvisor that our 3 Star Guesthouse delivers 5 Star service to guests.

We look forward to your return to stay with us again.

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am currently residing as a guest at Chateau de Carolle and having being a guest for the last 4 months. I must say that the service that I am receiving is a shining example of what the hospitality industry should be. The location is fantastic, a stunning neighbourhood to walk in and close to all amenities as well as some terrific restaurants.

I will surely recommend Chateau de Carolle to anyone who would like to experience great service and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our valued hospitality.
We look forward to having you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafikeng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at Chateau de Carolle twice in recent months and on both occasions it fully met our expectations. The accommodation is furnished, equipped and maintained to an unusually high standard, and far exceeds that normally found. Carol is very welcoming and clearly concerned that her guests should enjoy their stay. The kitchen in the self catering unit is very well appointed, the breakfast arrangements were fine, and the location is such that one does not need to travel far for an evening meal. It is in a pleasant and quiet residential area, and we will certainly stay there again in future. Altogether extremely comfortable accommodation and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We so enjoyed each of your visits & the fact that as guests you laid on the playing of the most beautiful music, was my appreciation. From afar your handsome son could be heard rehearsing his classical pieces which made for dignified elegance for too short a while.
We look forward to hearing more pieces sometime soon with an added request - to please play for longer intervals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at Chateau de Carolle a few times now and have just thoroughly enjoyed the Homeliness, hospitality and especially the comfort of the rooms and the quite serenity of the residence. Nothing is too much for the Owner Carol, and the detail of all that is provided, from breakfast snacks, the offer of laundry and the peaceful atmosphere of the home is truly magnificent. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and exquisitely appointed, with more than what you would need! The location is close to shopping, Golfing and other attractions in Johannesburg. Carol also has excellent recommendations for close by restaurants as well. A magic stay as always, and I shall always return, as it will be hard to find better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Andy

Many thanks for the reviews which you have placed on TripAdvisor after your recent trips to Chateau de Carolle in Johannesburg.

We look forward to your arrival again in August!

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Chateau de Carolle for five nights whilst I was recovering from surgery and subsequently two more overnight stays for follow-up visits when attending the hospital . I couldnt have had a better place to recuperate. The suite we stayed in was so well appointed and had every amenity we could have asked for. A very comfortable bed with beautiful linen and breakfast delivered to your room. The surroundings are very peaceful and Carol the owner who is always on site made our stay very enjoyable. More like a holiday than recovering from surgery!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Chateau de Carolle. It really was a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Maureen & Brian

I appreciate your appreciation of our high value service & hospitality which we deliver with 5 stars!

I look forward to your next stay at Chateau de Carolle.

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Carolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Carolle

Address: 100 Mowbray Road | Greenside, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Carolle Guesthouse with Bed and Breakfast offers accommodation in self-catering cottages & suites where independence, privacy & tranquillity is a consideration for business or leisure guests. This private home has been transformed to its former elegance of the 1940's, where warm rich Butterscotch colours mixed with a harmonious blend of enchanting collectables & antiques, interesting art, Persian rugs & stylish modern decor, has become home to returning guests who appreciate quality, comfort & excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Carolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Carolle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.