We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update your knowledge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Africa

Museum Africa
121 Bree St | Newtown, Johannesburg 2113, South Africa
27 11 833 5624
Improve this listing
Visit Museum Africa like an insider
Special Offer
$159*
and up
Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour...
Ranked #83 of 121 things to do in Johannesburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the busy Newtown Cultural Precinct, this multi-media museum includes an audio/visual display of Nelson Mandela’s treason trial.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Update your knowledge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Museum Africa is an worthwhile place to visit if you want to update your knowledge of South Africa History, Culture and Geography. Take your time and visit the past, present and think about the future! Kids might find it boring!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    13
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I like history and also geology, so I found it very good.

Large historical building.

We got in just 30 minutes before closing time, so went in for a fast tour.

It is free.

Reading other reviews, I guess if they start charging a modest entrance fee, funds could be collected to improve museum.

Overall, I am glad that I went here as part of my SA visit. Learned a lot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poorly set out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This museum is free, and just as well. The exhibits are poorly set out, there does not seem to be any chronological order, and the best part of the whole place is the 100 year old Market building itself.
Disappointing, on the whole

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“If you don't have anything else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

There is no charge for this museum. It felt like we were the only people there...sounds good right? Not so much. It was like a huge warehouse that had a few thing to see. It wasn't bad, just not good. The geology museum is here as well but don't get too excited...unless you love rocks and taking quizzes....you'll see if you go....the red bus takes you there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Some of the things on display were a little random but we enjoyed our visit. However the Museum at Wits Uni is much better I love that museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Africa also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Museum Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.