We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our South African adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartheid Museum

Apartheid Museum
Northern Parkway (and Gold Reef Road) | Ormonde (next to Gold Reef City casino), Johannesburg, South Africa
27 11 309 4700
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$165*
and up
Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour...
Ranked #2 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is architecturally interesting and packed with thoughtful, often brutal, reminders of South Africa’s history.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Melbourne Victoria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A highlight of our South African adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Words can't really describe this place and the impact of its stories. If you visit South Africa, you must visit this Museum. Of course, the stories it tells are compelling and moving. However the ways they are told, the quality and creativity of the interpretations is absolutely world class. We were fortunate to visit at a time when the feature gallery was showing a special exhibition on the life of Mandella, which really added to our experience, however even without this bonus we would have been blown away. My partner and I could easily have spent a full day there. Our 15 and 19 year olds were happy with three hours. If I return to Joburg, my first priority will be to return. Absolutely essential for all travellers to this extraordinary city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    458
    96
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chilling and moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

An important and very well documented museum on 70 years of shameful politics in south Africa. Museum architecture reflects the brutality of a regime that has left many scars in this country. Especially chilling to realize how recent this all happened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A must stop during your trip to Jo-burg to learn about SA's recent history. The museum is very informative and does not hold anything back. No kids.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Be sure to give yourself 3 to 4 hours as the museum is packed with information - we ran out of time sadly! Great for all ages - if you're pressed for time, you may want to get a guide to help you navigate. But it's an amazing place - we loved it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unstructured sequence of events & lack of meaningful interaction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited this historic place between Christmas and New Year. There is so much to learn within a short space of time. The Nelson Mandela exhibition was quite informative, especially a few weeks after the passing on of the legendary icon.

One requires up to three or four hours to go through and read all the historic information. An interactive, well structured arrangement would probably reduce the time to two hours or less.

Management need to relook at the structure and chronology of events as well as the element of active meaningful interaction between visitors and staff. This would make it very interesting. The way they conduct visits at Robben Island is a good example.

Although quite informative, the visit did not live up to our expectations. It is however worth visiting nonetheless. There is definitely room for improved services.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apartheid Museum also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Apartheid Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartheid Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.