We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the bargain mecca any longer...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Plaza

Oriental Plaza
Newtown Cultural Precinct, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 (011) 838-6752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 68 attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Historic Walking Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Throngs of locals and tourists visit this indoor/outdoor complex where over 350 shopkeepers hawk their wares.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the bargain mecca any longer...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been going to the Oriental Plaza for years and it saddens me that the prices of things have gone up so much now that more people know about it. It used to be a fun experience but not it's lots of the same and not at the great prices we were used to...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    64
    50
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lost its magic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Maybe it is the advent of all the china malls, but Oriental Plaza lost its magic for me. This used to be the one spot I new I would get what I want at a good price. Regrettably it is gone. With my recent trip there I couldn't find what I needed and the prices are way too high. Hallo Chi-ne-se Mall.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shopping for something special to wear!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There is always something special to find. Dressmakers will love the shops and the prices is very good....you can even bargain with the shop owner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Oriental Experience in Joburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The bargaining, friendliness and variety of goods are great. But please, clean the place up a bit. One feels dirty walking around there..!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bargains, Variety and Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you want a combination of a shopping excursion and a cultural experience, this is certainly a place to see.

Oriental Plaza provides a combination of indoor and open-air shopping. It offers more than 300 specialty shops all in one venue.

You'll find Pakistani and Indian culture everywhere, along with other influences as well. It includes clothing, shoes, furniture, leather goods, kitchen items, a few toys and maybe a few souvenirs. Some shops specialize in gifts, but a lot of that is geared toward weddings and catering to the local community in general.

Some places will bargain on prices. A few are fixed. Overall, this little mall is kind of heavy on textiles. You'll find a lot of competing kitchenware, drapery and decorating shops, for example.

Just so you are not going here with the wrong expectations, this is not a place where you will find South African souvenirs.

If you are from out of town or out of the country, it's a chance to explore a subculture within the local community. It is geared toward local people and their lives and their homes. You will probably find something you'll want to buy. Maybe something to remind you of your trip, or just something you think might come in handy.

The parking lot is outdoors but fenced in and secure. Small fee. Might want to stay parked there if you want to see any other shops nearby. Parking can be hard to find.

http://www.orientalplaza.co.za/

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Plaza also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oriental Plaza to your Saves list