We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melville Warehouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville

Melville
Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trendy coffeehouses and upscale shops dot this vibrant neighborhood.
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Melville Warehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow! I really I love Melville. The restaurants where just the best place where one eat proper food. I loved mostly going the Warehouse; I could dance; meet new friends and eat too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    48
    27
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Perú
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was alone in Melville for 3 days ant it was excellent. Very nice shops, restaurants, pubs. Near 7th street you can find some very interesting antique shops.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I Love Mellville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Many awesome shops and restaurants to visit. Great fun to visit in the evening or in the afternoon. Crime has been an issue in the past but it really is not taht bad

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky, Bohemian & full of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have lived in Melville for a few years now and I must admit Melville is on the up. It is a lovely suburb where one can meander around by foot, tuk tuk, bike or car and find interesting little spots. We have great restaurants, cafes, shops & a range of live music, markets, art tours & the koppies. Unfortunealty the recession has hit a few shops hard but hopefully with the great community work in the suburb and an up in the economy this will change.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must for visitors to Johannesburg.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A lot of would-be overseas guests don't want to stay in Jhb because of the crime, but a trip to melville almost always converts them. Love the pavement cafes, the eclectic mix of people (I mean black, white, coloured and Indian all eating and having a good time together, the faint touch of bohemianism, the outrageous shops.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melville also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.