We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel next to mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Johannesburg to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel next to mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights for business in July 2014. If you need to be in this part of the city it is a good hotel. Prices are slightly on the high side for similar hotels in South Africa. The hotel is next to a mall where there are my good restaurants and the opportunity for shopping and entertainment. I saw in some of the other reviews that they say the hotel rooms are dated but I can really not complain about this as everything was in working order and really did not look dated. The bathroom is a bit old bit is very well maintained. The hotel is opposite the Gautrain so you can travel here from the OR Tambo airport with only one transfer. In room facilities are complimentary coffee and tea as well as a safe and paid mini bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear TravelH007,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    112
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
38
27
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As a Hyatt Diamond member, I believe I am in a position to assess Hyatts very well. And this one certainly does not stand up to the test.
It is well-located and has a nice lobby.
The rooms, however, are dated. The clock radio is "secured" with a combination lock (motel anyone?!).
And worst of all is the service. Staff is nonchalant and doesn't care about guests.
We were awoken by maids at 7:50 am on a Saturday. True, we forgot to place the DND sign outside. Nevertheless, this is very unusual in a proclaimed 5-star hotel.
The Regency Club is the worst (outside the US) I have experienced. Poor service (didn't pour wines, stood around, declined to switch channels on TV from CNN to FIFA!).
I doubt I would return to this hotel, even though I usually stay within the Hyatt brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Janyyc,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel and that you did not receive the service that we strive to achieve. We will certainly discuss the issue that you experienced.
We do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent two nights at the Hyatt on the club level usinf hyatt points. We had adjoining rooms for a family of four. We were able to check in four hours early and the concierge helped arrange transport and restaurant reservations prior to arrival. Attached to mall with many good restaurants and the african market. From what I have read of jburg, I think this is the best choice for a family. Safe walkable area. Great gym with real weights and balls. Can't beat the transport in audi a7s. The train is within a 1/2 block of the entrance. One stop from where the city tour bus picks up and a quick ride to airport. Only compaint would be the windows/noise on street side, sounds like you have an open window. Beds are good, nice showers and towels, good wifi, we downloaded movies pretty quickly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear JackinDenver,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Rating this hotel is hard. Some parts are very nice and others are hopeless.

Hotel lobby and facilities are great and looks good. The rooms are large and spacious. But the hotel is starting to show its age with lack of maintenance. Breakfast is nice. Good option for dinner is The Steakhouse in the mall next door.
The service is OK for a Hyatt. Quite a comedy for 24 hours when the machine issuing access cards didn't work, so I had to go to the reception every time I needed to return to my room, including coming from the gym.
The conference facilities people are really struggling. I had to ask 4 times to get a power cord extension plus pay for it on top of already paying for the meeting facilities. In total 11 (!) people stopped by the meeting room to fix a very simple thing that should have been there from the beginning. Hopeless.
Hyatt here charges for late checkout for gold customers, which is not too impressive.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway as can get quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Bulgenes,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We will however discuss your comments on the Conference facilities with the team and address them so as to ensure this does not happen again.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall good experiance. I like that the grill house is attatched to the hotel through the mall. The reception and front staff where all very helpfull.


Club Lounge
My only disapointment was with the Club floor. Here the staff was difficult to find, freindly and helpfull when they where found.
Every morning - we struggled to find enough coffee and juice cups/glasses. Really not accepatable for the premium lounge.
There is not hot food choice for the breakfast. This is different that the last couple of Hyatt club floors where hot food is generally available.

Pleased, and would stay again. However, the club floor could be improved.
T

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Tylor_the_Lorax,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our overall facilities and services. We will be sure to bring your Club Floor comments to the attention of our management team so as to improve our offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A lovely hotel with great ammenities. Pleasant stay that was marred by a comedy of errors on the part of the front office staff. I checked out of the hotel having settled my bills only to get an email when I arrived home on "unsettled balance". Now I will incur a cost to pay the money - could they update their systems so that bills are updated automatically on the front office desk?
Rooms are lovely, well ventilated and spacious, includes shower and bathtub; iron and a blowdry.

I give a standing ovation to the house keeping staff lady who carried a cot all the way to the 6th floor since I was traveling with a minor. Kudos also to the chef - who makes amazing dishes and was accomodating enough to recommend and share with us a separate menu for my seven month old daughter.

Hotel is situated near shopping malls and is within reasonable distance of the airport with superb wifi connection. I would recommend the hotel with a disclaimer - ensure all your bills are posted before you check out...

Room Tip: stayed in room 626 - the only thing was that since its located next to a busy road, some noise filte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear 453Susan,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in late May 2014. This is a nice hotel, well situated. Rooms are excellent. They have all the amenities one needs.
The breakfast buffet, cheap by European standards, is really ecellent choice. The bar also has nice drinks and the hotel is co-situated with a shopping mall.
The hotel also has shuttles available for guests at low cost; one of my drivers didn't know where to go, but we managed to figure the address out. Goolge maps is an excellent solution for people unfamiliar with Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I was given a room high up on the execiive floor. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear petervee,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.