We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern and great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Johannesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #22 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, modern and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a modern, well located hotel with great service. Rooms are spacious, service is attentive and location in Rosebank was great. The breakfast buffet is generous and delicious.

The overall experience was a good one. This is not a luxurious hotel, so prices can seem steep but they are in line with the market (Johannesburg is getting pricier very quickly).

For business travelers, this is a great option!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    96
    31
    12
    11
See reviews for
16
29
26
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

First, I found the Hyatt Regency to be in a great location for what we needed. It was near, shops, restaurants, a mall, etc. Checking in was effortless, however, while checking out we were slightly over charged and the front desk agent tried to delete the transaction and do it over but had issues contacting the issuer of our credit card to reverse the charges. We were asked to sign but rest assure that it would be taken care of. We elected NOT to sign for an incorrect charge and eventually agreed to settle for Rands for what we were overcharged. Win win situation, being that it was becoming very time consuming. Other than that, the stay was great. The rooms were roomy, beds were comfortable, and the bathroom spacious. We enjoyed a few after dinner drinks in the hotel lobby which was nice and cozy and offered great service. We are planning to return to Johannesburg soon and will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked in with wife to give her a break from the kids as she hasn't slept through in 5 years (bad sleepers). All would have been fine except for the 4h30 wake up by the clock radio which had the alarm already set. Full volume and a talk radio station so I literally thought there were other people in the room when I woke up. On trying to complain I was fobbed off because they were booking in the flight staff of some Airline (obviously a more important customer). Gave feedback on this very issue when asked for to rate my stay by mail. Received no feedback not even a sorry. For what I paid not what I expected. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just travelled on a much anticipated family holiday to south africa.Our first port of call was the hyatt, rosebank for 4 nights.having stayed there before we were not disappointed. the staff was wonderful
and welcoming.the location of the hyatt within rosebank makes it ideal for different needs within a family.it is safe, theaccomodation is superb .the breakfast is delicious and the staff is attentive.
there were 6 of us (3 couples and a baby) .No detail was spared making our holiday a wonderful experience. The final 4 nights of our holiday we spent at the hyatt too, and again it was fabulous...thank you for making our holiday memorable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had time to kill whilst waiting for a nearby appointment and dropped into the hotel. My phone was flat and whilst I had an excellent coffee in the lobby, an adaptor plug was found for charging it. I had more coffee and an great lunch, all it the lobby and work completed was allowed to store my luggage with the concierge even though I wasn't a guest so that i could go for a walk and stretch my legs. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with such a positive "can do" attitude! Thank you Hyatt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I heard this used to be Park Hyatt and I can see why. Service is great, the lobby and the garden area has nice ambience, and the room is tastefully decorated and functional. This was such a great get away from a horrible month-long stay at Crown Plaza down the street.

As a diamond, breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvre were excellent. Again, the wait staff were very attentive and everything was well presented and tasted. Very well done!

Location was also very good as the hotel is inside of a mall (very safe) and has a direct access to the train.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well it's a Hyatt what more can I say? I was a guest at this hotel for an extended business trip and I must say these folks went out of their way! A super staff, a great location (and I mean a great location) good food in the hotel and within steps from the hotel. The spa was great. Loved the bed.
Would I stay here again or recommend this hotel - YES!

Room Tip: Just ask for one, the staff will make your stay worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.